Please note : This help page is for an older version of Enteprise Archtiect. The latest help can be found here.

Topic
Prev Next

Delete Elements From Your Model

You can delete elements from your model, working either from the Project Browser or from a diagram.

  • When you delete an element from your model, the element, its properties and any child elements or diagrams it contains are all deleted.  
  • The deleted element is removed from all diagrams on which it appears
  • All relationships that it was involved in are also deleted from the model

Delete one or more items from your model using the Project Browser

Step

Action

1

In the Project Browser, click on an item to select it.

To select additional items, or to remove items from the selection, use Ctrl+click or Shift+click.

The selected items are highlighted in the Project Browser.

2

Either:

  • Press Ctrl+Delete or
  • Right-click on one of the selected elements, then select the 'Delete selected item(s)' option

A confirmation dialog displays.

3

Click on the Yes button.

The selected items are deleted from your model.

Delete one or more items from your model using a diagram

Step

Action

1

To open the diagram containing the items to be deleted from your model, either:

  • Double-click on the diagram name in the Project Browser, or
  • Make an already open diagram the 'active' diagram, by clicking on its tab in the Diagram View

2

Either:

  • Press Ctrl+A to select all of the elements in the diagram, or
  • Click on an element in the diagram to select it, then use Ctrl+click to add or remove specific elements to and from the selection

The selected elements are highlighted in the diagram.

3

Press Ctrl+Delete.

A confirmation dialog displays.

4

Click on the Yes button.

The selected elements are removed from the model.

Notes

  • Deleting a Package completely removes the Package and all its contents - diagrams, child Packages and elements - from the model
  • Deleting an element completely removes the element and its properties, connectors, child elements and child diagrams from the model, and from every diagram that contains it
  • Deleting a diagram completely removes the diagram from the model, but not the diagram's component elements; they remain in the parent Package