Please note : This help page is for an older version of Enteprise Archtiect. The latest help can be found here.

Topic
Prev Next

Update an Asset

Over time, you might need to revise the contents of the Registry. Such updates can include:

  • Registering additional Asset Packages and files
  • Registering a new version of an Asset Package
  • Registering a new edition of a Storage file
  • Registering new Libraries
  • Deleting an Asset Package
  • Deleting a Storage file
  • Deleting a Library
  • Changing the details of a Storage
  • Deleting an entire Storage and the assets and files within it

Access

Ribbon

Publish > Model Exchange > Reusable Assets > Registry Browser

Update Tasks

Task

Detail

See also

Register new Asset Packages and Storage files

You can add further Asset Packages and files to a Storage at any time.

Register New Asset

Register a new version of an Asset Package

You register a new version of an Asset Package as if it were a new Asset. In the 'Current Version' field on the 'Register Package(s)' dialog, you type a different number or reference to that assigned to the currently-registered Asset.

You can overwrite an existing Asset Package under the same version number only if the Storage has 'Draft' status. If the Storage has 'Complete' status, you cannot overwrite the existing Asset Package under the same version number. To replace the current version, you must delete the Asset from the Storage and register the Package again.

Delete Asset Package from Storage

Click on the Package name in the 'Registry Browser' tab and either:

  • Click on the Delete button or
  • Right-click and select the 'Delete From Registry' menu option

In either case a short submenu displays, prompting you to select to delete:

  • The Asset Package only, or
  • The Asset Package and the Packages on which it is directly or indirectly dependant

When you select the appropriate option, a prompt displays for you to confirm the deletion.

Click on the Yes button. A message displays to confirm that the Package has been deleted from the Registry, and the name of the Package is removed from the 'Registry Browser' tab.

If the Storage is password-protected, the system prompts you to enter a 'Complete Access' password before it begins deleting the Package(s).

If any of the registered Packages depend on the Package being deleted, the system displays the names of these Packages and prompts for confirmation before deleting each Package.

Register a new version of a Storage File

You register a new version of a Storage file as if it were a new file under a different file name.

You can overwrite an existing file under the same file name only if the Storage has 'Draft' status. If the Storage has 'Complete' status, you cannot overwrite the existing file. To replace the current version, you must delete the file from the Storage and register the file again.

Register New Asset

Delete Storage Files from Storage

On the 'Storage Files' tab, right-click on the file name and select the 'Delete From Registry' option. A prompt displays for you to confirm the deletion.

Click on the Yes button. A status message confirms the deletion, the file is removed from the Registry and the file name is removed from the 'Storage Files' tab.

If the Storage is password-protected, the system prompts you to enter a 'Complete Access' password before it begins deleting the file.

Register a new Library File

You can add further Library files to a Storage at any time.

When you register a Library file, the file name and location will be used as the unique identifier for the file. You can overwrite this Library file in the Registry by registering a file with the same name and from the same file system location.

Register New Asset

Delete Library Files from Storage

To delete all Library files in Storage, click on the Delete button in the 'Registry Browser' tab.

To delete a particular Library file, right-click on the Library file name in the 'Storage Files' tab and select the 'Delete From Registry' option.

A prompt displays for you to confirm the deletion. Click on the Yes button. A status message confirms the deletion, the Library file(s) is removed from the Registry and the Library file(s) name is removed from the 'Storage Files' tab.

If the Storage is password-protected, the system prompts you to enter a 'Complete Access' password before it begins deleting the Library file.

Change Storage Details

This task is as documented for setting up the Registry. Note that whilst you can copy a Storage as a new Storage, you cannot transfer assets directly between existing Storages.

Setup Asset Service

Delete a Storage and its contents

This task is as documented for setting up the Registry. Note that whilst you can copy a Storage as a new Storage, you cannot transfer assets directly between existing Storages.

Refresh Registry Browser

If there is a possibility that another user has updated the Registry while you have had it open, click on the icon in the Reusable Asset Service toolbar to refresh your display from the latest updates to the Registry.

Learn more