Topic
Prev Next

Model Chat

The Discussions window provides the facility of following and participating in quick conversations on a point of interest, with members of a selected user group. The user groups are those defined in User Security.

Each initial comment or response is a separate message, listed in the Discussion window's 'Model Chat' tab in date/time order, with the most recent message at the top of the list. The messages are independent of the currently selected model object and the full list displays whenever the user group is selected in the 'Model Chat' tab. As the messages are independent of any model object, they do not appear in the 'Discussion Review' tab (Manage Discussions) or 'Recent Discussions' report (which are element-based).

You can filter the messages by the time interval prior to today, and you can set up a check to notify you when new messages are posted by members of one or more user groups.

An example of a Model Chat session.

Access

Ribbon

Start > Today > Discussion > Discuss > Model Chat

Construct > Project > Discussion > Discuss Element > Model Chat

Specification - Specify > Element > Discuss > Model Chat

Select a User Group

Initially, the button at the top of the 'Model Chat' tab displays the name 'Select a Discusion Group'. Click on the button and on the name of the user group to send messages to. The name of the currently-selected user group then becomes the name of the button.

If you want to communicate with a different group, click on the button again and select the name of that group.

If you do not want to continue chatting, you can select 'Disconnect from Current Discussion'.

Create a message

Step

Description

1

At the top of the 'Model Chat' tab, in the text field, type your message. You can right-click on the text and select from a number of editing context menu options, and you can create glossary terms and new elements from the text you are typing, or links to existing elements. You can also paste in copied text from the clipboard, by pressing Ctrl+V.

If you want to create a paragraph break, press Ctrl+Enter (the Enter key alone will submit the message).

2

When you have completed your message, click on the Send button or press the Enter key. The message displays in the list underneath the text field.

Review Messages

Once a message has been sent, it cannot be edited. However, if you want to re-use the text of a message item, you can copy the whole message to the clipboard by pressing Ctrl+C, either before you save it or after you have posted it. You can then paste the text into a new chat item or into another document in Enterprise Architect.

You can also delete a message by right-clicking on it and selecting the 'Delete Message' option.

Messages sent by other people to the currently-selected User Group display in your screen immediately. Messages deleted by other users do not disappear immediately. To update your list, right-click on it and select the 'Reload Messages' option.

Monitor User Groups for Messages

You can set up a 'watch' on selected user groups to notify you when a member of one of those user groups posts a message, and the 'Model Chat' tab is either set to a different user group or not visible.

The notification is a New Model Discussion button that displays in the bottom right of the Status Bar when a message is posted from a selected user group. The button also displays if a message is posted in the thread you have been reading, and the 'Model Chat' tab is not visible. Click on the button to redisplay the 'Model Chat' tab with the message thread.

If you are monitoring more than one user group, the New Model Discussion button provides a menu to indicate which of the selected groups has posted a new and unread message. When you click on a group, the 'Model Chat' tab displays with the appropriate thread of messages.

To set up a watch for messages from a user group:

  1. Click on the 'Options' icon on the right of the <User Group> button, and select the 'Monitor Groups for new Messages' option.
  2. Select a user group to monitor. If you want to monitor more than one group, either:
         -  Do steps 1 and 2 again for each individual group to monitor, or
         - Select the 'All' group to check for messages from any of the user groups
  3. Select the 'Monitor Groups for new Messages' option again, and click on the 'Check for new Messages Every' option. Click on the interval of time at which the system will check for new messages - every minute, or up to every ten minutes.
  4. If you want to cancel monitoring a specific group, repeat steps 1 and 2. Clicking on a selected group will deselect it.
  5. If you want to cancel monitoring any of the selected groups, perform step 1 and then click on the 'None' option.

Filter messages by age

The 'Options' icon provides the 'Message Visibility' option, to limit the display of messages to those posted within a certain number of days prior to today's date.

When you select this option, a menu displays from which you select to display only messages posted today (the default), or within the last 7, 30 or 90 days.

If you do not want to limit the display of messages to an interval you have set, you can cancel it by selecting the 'All' option.

Learn more