Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - orcus

Pages: [1]
1
Suggestions and Requests / EA in Team Environment
« on: July 28, 2003, 02:56:06 pm »
I have already posted this in the "General forum" so my apologies for the crosspost but I think this message is more appropriate here.

In a large team environment, I am wondering how teams using EA are handling concurrent changes.  

I am using the security, locking and package control in EA with my team (about 10 members to grow to a 25 member team) with most of them using EA in various phases of the project.

My questions is - Is there any way to improve "Reload current Model"?  

Here is a typical scenario:  
If user A locked an existing package and  changed an element (e.g. added a new method to the Employee class), and user B is exploring the same package (in a readonly view) and wants to print the diagram with the employee class out, he will probably print the older version unless he reloads the model. I think this method is very error-prone.

Can a new feature be  added to prompt the user with a message if he is trying to enter a package that has been modified by another user?  

I'd like to know how other EA teams are handling this.  

Thanks in advance for your time...


regards,
orcus


2
General Board / EA in Team environment
« on: July 28, 2003, 01:02:40 pm »
Hi-

In a large team environment, I am wondering how teams using EA are handling concurrent changes.

I am using the security, locking and package control in EA with my team (about 10 members to grow to a 25 member team) with most of them using EA in various phases of the project.

My questions is - Is there any way to improve "Reload current Model"?

Here is a typical scenario:
If user A locked an existing package and  changed an element (e.g. added a new method to the Employee class), and user B is exploring the same package (in a readonly view) and wants to print the diagram with the employee class out, he will probably print the older version unless he reloads the model. I think this method is very error-prone.

Can a new feature be  added to prompt the user with a message if he is trying to enter a package that has been modified by another user?

I'd like to know how other EA teams are handling this.

Thanks in advance for your time...


regards,
orcus

Pages: [1]