Author Topic: Help for new user  (Read 293 times)

ozdeadmeat

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Help for new user
« on: January 11, 2017, 03:11:53 pm »
Hi Guys,

I have created a metamodel and would like to start populating it with data. I have the following configuration

vContainer (Virtual Machine Template) - this defines the specification of Virtual Hardware, Applications, OS configuration, SLA

I would like to start defining vCon's (short for vContainer).

For example I would like to define vCon 1.

vCon 1 is a WebProxy, it runs Linux. It has Webmin and Apache installed on it.

I would like to do the following,

Define Webmin and Apache as separate applications using the Application metamodel I created
Define vCon 1 with custom configuration of Apache and Webmin.

Once this is defined I would like to specify 3 instances of this vCon. Each Instance will have unique configuration items like IP Address, name, vCon Instance ID. etc etc.

Can someone give me an idea or somewhere to look for this answer. I have been reading irrelivant EA documentation for days and at this point I am looking at recommending my company dump this software for something easier to use like Excel. I hate excel but atleast I know how it works and can get data in and out of it.

Just need help with this product.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8472
  • Karma: +123/-107
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Help for new user
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2017, 07:36:40 pm »
Look into the example model (can be opened via the Help menu). It has lots of examples in that direction.

q.

ozdeadmeat

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help for new user
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2017, 03:24:00 pm »
That is a pretty vague response. Can you be specific on the example to which you prefer?

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8472
  • Karma: +123/-107
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Help for new user
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2017, 08:27:57 pm »
So what is your problem? Are you looking for a model design or don't you know how to use the tool to express your explained model?

q.

ozdeadmeat

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help for new user
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2017, 01:37:11 am »
I have created a metamodel (well I have used attributes to create a meta model.

I guess I need 2 things explained.

1. How best do I create a meta model for the above mentioned scenario?

2. How do I then enter data into said model to be able to run reports against?

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8472
  • Karma: +123/-107
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Help for new user
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2017, 07:24:54 am »
I have a little write-up here: http://liquit.biz/brain/enterprise.html (the first two articles). Just look if they can help.

q.

Dermot

  • EA Administrator
  • EA User
  • *****
  • Posts: 580
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help for new user
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2017, 10:54:36 am »
It sounds like you are looking for Run-time States defination.
See some examples in the EAExmple model under the package/diagram:
 - Example Model.Software Engineering.Deployment Model.Head Office Deployment.HO Servers

For help on setting these Run-time States see:
http://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/13.0/model_domains/runtimestate.html

KP

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2385
  • Karma: +22/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Help for new user
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2017, 11:19:01 am »
I have created a metamodel (well I have used attributes to create a meta model.
What does your metamodel look like? Is it a set of UML class diagrams which define the structures and relationships of your metaelements? If that is the case, your next steps are probably to convert your metamodel to a UML Profile, deploy your profile (either as is, or in an MDG Technology), then use your profile to start creating stereotyped elements.