Prev Next

Set Shared Key Lease Periods

Normally, in an environment that requires licenses to be shared, an Enterprise Architect user 'releases' the license they have 'leased' immediate upon closing the application.  However, in an environment where Enterprise Architect users work offline for periods of time (for example, using laptops) this type of configuration would not allow an offline user to open Enterprise Architect once they have disconnected from the main network.

For this reason a Floating License Server / Key Store can be configured to have a longer retention period.

To administer the lease period of a Floating License Server / Key Store, select a store from the list and then select the 'Options' menu option. The 'Keystore Options' dialog is then shown.

Key leases expire after

This pair of fields determine how long a user can retain a key even if they log off Enterprise Architect. Typically you would set this for the period that a user is unable to access the keystore, if they intend to work in Enterprise Architect during that period. The setting is overridden by the 'Auto checkin' field, if it is enabled.

Type in the number of units of time, and then click on the drop-down arrow and select the appropriate unit.

Auto checkin

If users need to keep a key checked out when closing Enterprise Architect (for example, if a laptop user needs to keep using the Enterprise Architect license for X days while not having access to the keystore server) then this option should be disabled.

However, for the most efficient sharing of keys this option should normally be left enabled. When enabled, if a user closes Enterprise Architect then their license key is automatically returned to the keystore (regardless of the lease expiry setting).