Please note : This help page is for a BETA build of Enterprise Architect and may be incomplete/unfinished. The current official page can be found here.

Prev Next

Auto Refresh

When working in a team environment, the Auto Refresh feature assists in collaborative diagram design, by providing improved support for multiple people giving input on the same diagram and allowing users to monitor changes on a specific diagram.

The automatic refresh mode is enabled when a user selects a refresh interval.  This effectively applies a lock to the diagram, preventing all users from editing the diagram.  The model database is polled to check for changes to the diagram and reloaded from the database when changes are detected.  To make changes to the diagram, a user must choose the "Pause & Edit" option, which releases the lock and allows the current user to make updates to the diagram.  Once the user has finished making changes, the "Resume" option is selected, whereupon diagram updates are automatically saved to the database and the lock is reapplied.

This feature is available in Enterprise Architect version 16.0 and later.

Access

Context Menu

Right-click on diagram background | Collaborate > Auto Refresh

Context Menu Options

The options below are used to enable or disable the functionality, to set the diagram refresh interval and to 'pause' the auto-refresh setting to allow editing of the diagram.

Option

Action

See also

Disabled

This is the default setting for all diagrams.  Any user can update the diagram, but there is a risk of update 'collisions'.  When another user saves their changes, you will receive a warning message and a prompt to reload the diagram.

7

Enable automatic refresh mode for the current diagram and set the refresh interval to 7 seconds.

15

Enable automatic refresh mode for the current diagram and set the refresh interval to 15 seconds.

30

Enable automatic refresh mode for the current diagram and set the refresh interval to 30 seconds.

60

Enable automatic refresh mode for the current diagram and set the refresh interval to 60 seconds.

Pause & Edit

Pauses automatic refreshing of the diagram and releases the lock on the diagram for this user, allowing this user to edit the diagram.

Resume

Saves any outstanding changes to the diagram and reapplies the lock, preventing any further modification of the diagram.  Automatic refreshing of the diagram resumes.