Sparx Systems Forum

Enterprise Architect => General Board => Topic started by: PanZupa on January 04, 2014, 02:09:42 am

Title: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: PanZupa on January 04, 2014, 02:09:42 am
When I export diagram (save as image) or during RTF documentation generation, picture with diagram has a blank (empty) space on the right.

This empty space was used before I reorganized the diagram, now it's unused and I would like to have exported picture without it.

(http://i.stack.imgur.com/FWsrS.png)


How can I do that?
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: skiwi on January 06, 2014, 01:06:20 pm
Do check (use ctrl-A select all) to ensure there is no element left in the white space.

PS what version?
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: PanZupa on January 07, 2014, 07:16:56 pm
There is no "leftovers" on the diagram (ctrl+a selected only visible elements).

Version 10.0 Build 1009 (but I have observed such behavior in v.9 too on different model)
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: qwerty on January 07, 2014, 08:34:40 pm
I had the same issue once in a time. My solution: copy all the content, create a new diagram and paste it. Then use the new new diagram (delete old, rename the new). Extra work if you use the old diagram as reference somewhere since you need to create new references too.

q.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: PanZupa on January 07, 2014, 09:50:40 pm
I already did that. But it didn't help.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: KP on January 08, 2014, 10:32:46 am
It appears that EA thinks the diagram contents are bigger than they actually are. There are a number of potential reasons - it could be font related, or it could be a specific element type that is being calculated incorrectly. Could you send a copy of your diagram to Sparx support for further investigation please?
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: PanZupa on January 08, 2014, 06:55:39 pm
Unfortunately I can't share it (employeer rules)

But I can describe what's on it.

It's BPMN 2, process diagram, with two separate swimlines. There is a bunch of activities in each swimline and there are message flows between activites from different swimlines.

Those swimlines have been bigger (longer in width) but I reorganized activities to free up some space, and then I made swimlines shorther. EA still thinks they are longer while exporting diagram to image.

I will create new diagram from scratch (not copy paste solution).
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: Graham_Moir on January 08, 2014, 11:33:58 pm
Couldn't you sanitize the diagram before sending it to Sparx?
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: PanZupa on January 08, 2014, 11:38:42 pm
will have to ask my manager first
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: qwerty on January 09, 2014, 12:22:11 am
They have an obfuscation tool. You might use that. Just ask support for a copy of it.

q.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: PanZupa on January 09, 2014, 12:26:31 am
can remove names by myselef. I just don't want to have security audit and be a suspect of some internal security policy breach.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: KP on January 09, 2014, 09:00:29 am
I can reproduce from the description above. I have passed this on to the person who will be investigating.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: PanZupa on January 09, 2014, 07:18:29 pm
Ok great.... not great. But at least this bug is consistent. Looking forward to any answers :-)

Does Sparx has Jira (or any other issue tracker) where I can look at the state of that bug?
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: Geert Bellekens on January 09, 2014, 07:44:39 pm
Quote
Does Sparx has Jira (or any other issue tracker) where I can look at the state of that bug?
:o :-/ :-X
No, we have been asking for years...

Geert
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: Jacob Vos on January 10, 2014, 12:04:56 am
I also have the same problem - with BPMN diagrams, but also with other kinds of diagrams.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: PanZupa on January 14, 2014, 02:53:20 am
@KP

any progress with this bug?
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: Sunshine on January 14, 2014, 05:44:15 am
I'd be interested in the fix to this problem too as on occasion its occurred on some of my diagrams when generating RTF docs.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: KP on January 14, 2014, 09:04:16 am
Quote
@KP

any progress with this bug?
I've spoken with the developer and he believes he has a fix lined up. EA has allowed too much blank space around connectors, specifically connectors drawn with shape scripts, e.g. BPMN sequence and message flows.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: PanZupa on January 14, 2014, 07:48:43 pm
So if I understand correctly: when I remove associations of any types (connectors) from diagram, EA should export it without blank space, correct?
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: Jacob Vos on January 14, 2014, 09:09:33 pm
I have a diagram that only displays ArchiMate application components, but it has still the 'white space problem'.

- I didn't place any connectors on it, or removed it.
- For all certainty I pasted the components on a brand new diagram, but still the same problem.

So if connectors are the cause, they are not the only cause.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: PanZupa on January 22, 2014, 01:39:11 am
Quote
I've spoken with the developer and he believes he has a fix lined up. EA has allowed too much blank space around connectors, specifically connectors drawn with shape scripts, e.g. BPMN sequence and message flows.

Any update on that KP?
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: PanZupa on February 15, 2014, 12:18:54 am
any update?
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: Geert Bellekens on February 15, 2014, 12:52:59 am
Have you tried it in EA v11?

Geert
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: KP on February 17, 2014, 08:55:29 am
EA 11 should have fixed it. Please let Support know if that is not the case.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: PanZupa on February 17, 2014, 10:50:55 pm
Hi

No. I've not tried on v11. As my (global, huge) company has just (December 2013) rolled out v10. This will take much time since they will introduce v11 on our boxes.

V10 fix would be appreciated.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: Geert Bellekens on February 17, 2014, 10:52:13 pm
Quote
V10 fix would be appreciated.
Forget it, aint gonna happen.

Geert
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: mbrenner on April 23, 2018, 09:50:51 pm
Since I just spent about half an hour trying to figure out what's the problem with the white space around the exported images (EA Version 9.3.935) I thought I'd sent an update to this old thread:

When exporting to EMF using "Diagram->Save As Image", EA seems to take the Windows System: Display resolution options into account. In order to adjust to working on my small notebook screen I had the field "Change the size of text, apps, and other items" set to 125%. This seems to be the cause of the extra white space around the exported figures.

In order to fix it, go to the Windows Settings->Display->"Change the size of text, apps, and other items" and change that field to 100%. Close the settings, and export your figures from EA.

Hope this helps!
-markus
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: qwerty on April 23, 2018, 11:50:51 pm
Now that the cause is know a fix *should* be around the corner...

q.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: Eve on April 24, 2018, 08:42:27 am
Now that the cause is know a fix *should* be around the corner...

q.
Read up the thread a little... The cause was already known, it was fixed in version 11.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: Timobkr on September 25, 2020, 06:37:28 pm
Hello,
Exporting to PDF, I have the same problem on EA 15.1 and data imported from ArcGIS SDE geodatabase. It was exporting correctly and now not anymore. With PDF Creator, it's terrible : 3/4 of the page is empty. It's a bit better with Microsoft print to PDF. I get an empty area on the right just like in PanZupa's 2014 post.
I'm not sure I did any resizing as described by PanZupa in his following thread. For me the problem appeared when we migrated to V15.1
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: qwerty on September 25, 2020, 06:53:22 pm
Now that the cause is know a fix *should* be around the corner...

q.
Read up the thread a little... The cause was already known, it was fixed in version 11.
Until it broke up again in V15.

q.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: dnemiro1 on April 07, 2021, 10:26:37 am
Any update on this bug 15.1 still has this problem after all these years.
Title: Re: Exported diagram has empty space
Post by: Eve on April 07, 2021, 11:11:23 am
Any update on this bug 15.1 still has this problem after all these years.
The situations that I know about have been corrected, in short it will happen whenever any item on the diagram reports that it takes up more space than it does. It's hard to diagnose your problem without seeing the actual diagram. I'd recommend that you send in a sample diagram using the support form in the page footer so that we can help you properly.