Sparx Systems Forum

Enterprise Architect => General Board => Topic started by: Ian Mitchell on October 22, 2021, 08:51:20 pm

Title: Where has 'make this diagram my default' gone in v16?
Post by: Ian Mitchell on October 22, 2021, 08:51:20 pm
I only just worked out where it was in V15, and now it's moved again.
...and customers wonder why there is no 'Introduction to EA' course, when the UI changes every release. Sigh.
Title: Re: Where has 'make this diagram my default' gone in v16?
Post by: wivel on October 22, 2021, 11:23:10 pm
Hi Ian

Yep, it has moved again.

https://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/16.0/modeling/usr_model-default_diags.html (https://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/16.0/modeling/usr_model-default_diags.html)

Henrik
Title: Re: Where has 'make this diagram my default' gone in v16?
Post by: Ian Mitchell on October 25, 2021, 09:28:26 pm
Ah- I found that option as well, but een when I have the diagram open, and selected in the PB, the options are still disabled.
Using a single-user EAPX repository.
Anyone made this work in this environment ?
Title: Re: Where has 'make this diagram my default' gone in v16?
Post by: wivel on October 26, 2021, 02:31:50 am
Hi Ian

You are right. It does not work. Tried it on both an EAPX and an MSSQL model in both EA 16 32 abd 64 bits, with no luck. The option keeps being disabled.

Henrik
Title: Re: Where has 'make this diagram my default' gone in v16?
Post by: Geert Bellekens on October 26, 2021, 06:12:03 am
Works for me, but I'm using security. I can imagine that is a prerequisite.
It doesn't work for me on a new model without security enabled.

Geert
Title: Re: Where has 'make this diagram my default' gone in v16?
Post by: Ian Mitchell on October 26, 2021, 06:57:09 pm
In V15 EA didn't care if you had security enabled.
I think this is a bug. I'll report it.
Title: Re: Where has 'make this diagram my default' gone in v16?
Post by: wivel on October 26, 2021, 08:30:10 pm
Or it could have been a bug in EA 15.x. When you think of it, how would EA know which user to show which diagram for if you do not have user security enabled?

Henrik
Title: Re: Where has 'make this diagram my default' gone in v16?
Post by: Geert Bellekens on October 26, 2021, 09:04:10 pm
Or it could have been a bug in EA 15.x. When you think of it, how would EA know which user to show which diagram for if you do not have user security enabled?

Henrik
I think it used to use your windows user name.

Geert
Title: Re: Where has 'make this diagram my default' gone in v16?
Post by: wivel on October 26, 2021, 10:11:12 pm
I think it used to use your windows user name.

Geert

Makes sense.

Henrik
Title: Re: Where has 'make this diagram my default' gone in v16?
Post by: Eve on October 27, 2021, 08:35:46 am
In V15 EA didn't care if you had security enabled.
I think this is a bug. I'll report it.
If the option you were thinking of didn't need security then you were setting the model default diagram. Start > Collaborate > Model Home

I think it used to use your windows user name.
The author field is filled with the Windows user name if security isn't enabled, but the user diagram option has always been saved against a user id, which won't exist if you're not using security.
Title: Re: Where has 'make this diagram my default' gone in v16?
Post by: Ian Mitchell on October 27, 2021, 09:51:29 pm
Reply from Sparx to bug report:

That's correct, to avail these features you need to have Security enabled.
https://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/16.0/modeling/usr_model-default_diags.html


Which is true - it only works with security enabled.
But it worked fine in V15 with no security. So why the change? I have asked @Sparx.
So what's this - a v15 bug which got fixed, or a V15 feature which got disabled?
Not sure I care much - please can we have this back....
Title: Re: Where has 'make this diagram my default' gone in v16?
Post by: wivel on October 27, 2021, 11:28:24 pm
In V15 EA didn't care if you had security enabled.
I think this is a bug. I'll report it.
If the option you were thinking of didn't need security then you were setting the model default diagram. Start > Collaborate > Model Home

Hi Eve

The option we are looking is to set the default diagram for the current user, not for all users of the model. As Ian pointed out, it worked fine in EA 15.x without security enabled. The question now is whether it is a bug in EA 16 or a bug in EA 15.x that has now been fixed.

Henrik
Title: Re: Where has 'make this diagram my default' gone in v16?
Post by: Eve on October 28, 2021, 08:44:37 am
But it worked fine in V15 with no security. So why the change? I have asked @Sparx.
So what's this - a v15 bug which got fixed, or a V15 feature which got disabled?

As Ian pointed out, it worked fine in EA 15.x without security enabled. The question now is whether it is a bug in EA 16 or a bug in EA 15.x that has now been fixed.
Just in case my memory was failing me I just tested 15.0, 15.1 and 15.2. None of them allowed setting a per user diagram without security enabled.

As I said. That option has always been stored using the id (guid) of a security user. Even if there was a bug that enabled it in 15, it could never have loaded a diagram from that.

Is it possible that you actually had security on with 'Accept Windows Authentication' enabled?