Sparx Systems Forum

Enterprise Architect => General Board => Topic started by: oiwuernnslkdjf on January 21, 2022, 08:34:39 pm

Title: Adding Information Flow Realized later.
Post by: oiwuernnslkdjf on January 21, 2022, 08:34:39 pm
Hello,

I have a few Information Flow connectors that are not yet "Realized". According to the manual I should be able do this after adding connector by doing the following:
Right-click on connector | Advanced | Information Flows Realized
Source: https://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/15.2/model_domains/informationitemsrealized.html (https://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/15.2/model_domains/informationitemsrealized.html)

The "Information Flows Realized" button is missing in my version of EA (v15.2.1588). Is there any other way to Realize an existing Information Flow?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Adding Information Flow Realized later.
Post by: Geert Bellekens on January 21, 2022, 08:44:33 pm
I just tested this (v15.2.1559) on a sequence diagram message, and I saw the option in the context menu as described.

It seems to appear on most types of connectors.

Not on information flow, and not on notelink.

Geert
Title: Re: Adding Information Flow Realized later.
Post by: oiwuernnslkdjf on January 21, 2022, 08:56:04 pm
Thanks Geert for your reply.

I found it now. Its not available on non-realized information flow for me though, only on already realized information flows. I did the following to "convert" an existing non-realized IF to a realized IF:

- ad non-realized information flow to a realized information flow
- add new information flow connector and select "Add Realizing Relationship" in the menu that pops up
- right click this new connector -> Advanced Information Flow Realized -> select the non-realized information flow item

This "removes" the non-realized Information Flow and show it all in the Realized Information flow.

I was not aware of this mechanic of informations flow connectors! Good to have it working now.

Title: Re: Adding Information Flow Realized later.
Post by: Geert Bellekens on January 21, 2022, 09:17:49 pm
I don't get it.

If you already have an information flow, then you don't need to realize it anymore???

AFAIK this feature is meant to be used to add conveyed eleents to a differnt type of relation such as an asociation or message. In that case you need a realizing information flow.

If you already have a information flow you can simply add the conveyed elements directly.

Geert
Title: Re: Adding Information Flow Realized later.
Post by: oiwuernnslkdjf on January 21, 2022, 11:24:30 pm
Maybe I am using the realized flow incorrectly then. I am working on an existing EA model and there are only realized information flow connectors between blocks. I always interpreted it as "this is what were actually doing" kinda flow.

Here is an image of what I am talking about https://imgur.com/6kn6W4h (https://imgur.com/6kn6W4h)

Thanks!
Title: Re: Adding Information Flow Realized later.
Post by: Geert Bellekens on January 21, 2022, 11:31:39 pm
Maybe I am using the realized flow incorrectly then.
Not necesarrily. I'm not familiar with SysML, so you might be doing things correctly.

Geert
Title: Re: Adding Information Flow Realized later.
Post by: KP on January 24, 2022, 09:49:13 am
Here is an image of what I am talking about https://imgur.com/6kn6W4h (https://imgur.com/6kn6W4h)

There are two connectors between block3 and block4: an Association and the InformationFlow that it realizes.