Author Topic: Name-only display for Class attributes  (Read 4283 times)

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Name-only display for Class attributes
« on: February 20, 2006, 05:09:05 am »
For brainstorming and presentation it would be useful to display only the names of class attributes. This would be via a setting at the diagram level, and would eliminate all other adornments, including the visibility, type, and value. Most importantly, even the punctuation would be gone; the colon would not appear at the end of the attribute name.

This would only relate to what is displayed on a diagram. The attributes themselves could be fully populated, with datatypes, initial values, or whatever.

This display option would be helpful for brainstorming, presentations and non-technical documentation, or any other high-level diagrams.

David
No, you can't have it!

sargasso

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1406
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • 10 COMFROM 30; 20 HALT; 30 ONSUB(50,90,10)
    • View Profile
Re: Name-only display for Class attributes
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2006, 02:15:23 pm »
(No EA on hand)
Cant this be set in the diagram properties?  Somewhere on the right below the box that specifies what is displayed is a combo box(?) that alows you to show name only.

hth
bruce
"It is not so expressed, but what of that?
'Twere good you do so much for charity."

Oh I forgot, we aren't doing him are we.

bmioch

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Name-only display for Class attributes
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2006, 02:48:44 pm »
Double-click on a diagram to open the Diagram Properties Dialog.

Under Appearance Options, find the two check boxes "Hide Attributes" and "Hide Operations" at the top of the third column of check boxes.

In the Help File
http://www.sparxsystems.com.au/EAUserGuide/index.html?showfeatures.htm

Bill

sargasso

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1406
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • 10 COMFROM 30; 20 HALT; 30 ONSUB(50,90,10)
    • View Profile
Re: Name-only display for Class attributes
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2006, 03:11:59 pm »
Quote
Double-click on a diagram


He meant to say :

Double click on some free space somewhere in a diagram.   ;)

bruce
"It is not so expressed, but what of that?
'Twere good you do so much for charity."

Oh I forgot, we aren't doing him are we.

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: Name-only display for Class attributes
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2006, 03:18:43 pm »
Thanks guys, but neither of these approaches works.

Bruce, the options you are thinking of are specifically scoped to parameters. Setting Name Only has no effect on display of attributes.

Bill, your solution will make the attributes disappear altogether.

What I am looking for would result in a list of attribute names, without any other adornments or puctuation. The UML (or at least the UP) guidelines state that in class diagrams the name is the only required item for an attribute.

[You could try something similar for operations, which would also be useful. This would be one step beyond what Bruce mentions; it would list only the operation name. However, with overloaded operations things would quickly get a bit complicated. Best to leave that for another time, if ever.]
No, you can't have it!