Author Topic: Select multiple "things" on a diagram  (Read 14771 times)

Dave_Bullet

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 291
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Select multiple "things" on a diagram
« on: May 29, 2007, 05:48:32 pm »
EA supports selecting multiple elements, but what about connectors or other composite selections (ie. a boundary, connector and element?)

At the very least - select multiple connectors - so the colour, hide (or show) labels operation can be done in one hit rather than right clicking each and every connector....

Even better.... me being OO, generic and all that.

Extend the above, so EA could allow you to select a mish-mash of different classifiers on a diagram then based on UML classifier hierarchy, determine and show the common properties that can be edited on the right mouse click (ie. font in most cases, but many other things are classifier specific).

What do you think?  I've seen other tools do this (I think even Visio to an extent) but can't remember specifics.

David.
"I know I'm close to a good design, but it's like the balloon animals, squeeze in one spot and the problem moves down the line"

thomaskilian

  • Guest
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagra
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2007, 12:23:01 pm »
Multiple selection? Don't tell me you're Bruce newborn ;D

Put in my vote for this. Maybe we will see it in our old days.

Dave_Bullet

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 291
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagra
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2007, 12:49:02 pm »
Hehe Bruce, moi? I'm flattered..  I think I've got a long way to go, but am old and grey enough to be cantankerous when need be  ;D

I'd like to know what categories Sparx have for feature enhancements and relative priorities... seems to me the product is getting very code centric.  I would have thought any productivity features around diagram and model usability would be at the top of the list (well from my perspective anyway).

Cheers,
DAvid.
"I know I'm close to a good design, but it's like the balloon animals, squeeze in one spot and the problem moves down the line"

thomaskilian

  • Guest
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagra
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2007, 09:44:40 pm »
Indeed that would be very nice to have an insight in Sparx' issue list. We asked for that when I joined this forum some years ago. As multiple selection there was not much proceeding :(

However, Sparxians, our wish is still present. Do you hear us users?

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagra
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2007, 01:35:42 am »
I'll chirp in as well. Perhaps that'll help raise the volume on this one.

David
No, you can't have it!

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8157
  • Karma: +231/-129
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagra
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2007, 01:43:48 am »
Is this enough for the start of a "conga" line?   ;D

While I'd also like this, I don't see it coming any time soon.  Otherwise it would have been here by now...  :(

However, I would ask that Sparx ask for some user input about what the requirements for such a beast BEFORE they start designing the solution...  ;)

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagra
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2007, 02:54:06 am »
What he said!
No, you can't have it!

sargasso

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1406
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • 10 COMFROM 30; 20 HALT; 30 ONSUB(50,90,10)
    • View Profile
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagra
« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2007, 03:35:54 am »
[glb]Mulltiple selection[/glb] sigh
[glb]Links are people too![/glb] sigh


Down low and on the side.

(the real) bruce
"It is not so expressed, but what of that?
'Twere good you do so much for charity."

Oh I forgot, we aren't doing him are we.

Ignacio G. T.

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagram
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2010, 05:23:08 pm »
Wow. So this issue has been raised more than three years ago. I'm new to EA, but how have all of you lived without multiple link selection? :o

beginner

  • Guest
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagram
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2010, 06:14:26 pm »
EA users are well know to be very patient.

b.

fwoolz

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 435
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • We have met the enemy, and he is us.<Pogo, 1970>
    • View Profile
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagram
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2010, 03:06:32 am »
It's the price you pay for not having to pay the price.
Fred Woolsey
Interfleet Technology Inc.

Always be ready to laugh at yourself; that way, you beat everyone else to the punch.


skiwi

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1977
  • Karma: +44/-82
    • View Profile
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagra
« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2010, 01:49:22 pm »
Ignacio,
see http://www.sparxsystems.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?num=1277094607/0 for more things we live without.

Very happy to have you add to that thread

S
« Last Edit: September 07, 2010, 02:08:37 pm by skiwi »
Orthogonality rules
Using EA15.2 (1555) on Windows 10 Enterprise/64 bit. Repositories in SQLServer2019 & Access2003/JET4.0. WebEA on Pro Cloud Server 4.2.64

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11819
  • Karma: +458/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagram
« Reply #12 on: September 07, 2010, 03:21:29 pm »
Quote
It's the price you pay for not having to pay the price.

Fred,

I had to work with other UML tools in the past that were ~20+ times more expensive, but I have to say that those tools were in no way more "feature complete", nor did they respond to bugs/CR's the way Sparx does (no response was usually the standard)
I guess its a case of "in the land of the blind..." :-/

Geert

fwoolz

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 435
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • We have met the enemy, and he is us.<Pogo, 1970>
    • View Profile
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagram
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2010, 01:09:51 am »
Geert,

I must say I agree. That's what I'm still a patient EA user...
Fred Woolsey
Interfleet Technology Inc.

Always be ready to laugh at yourself; that way, you beat everyone else to the punch.


sargasso

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1406
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • 10 COMFROM 30; 20 HALT; 30 ONSUB(50,90,10)
    • View Profile
Re: Select multiple "things" on a diagram
« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2010, 11:25:40 pm »
[size=72]DUZNT MATTA ! UZ HERE IN MULTIPLE SELECT LAND R STILL NOT HAPPYZ!!![/size]
"It is not so expressed, but what of that?
'Twere good you do so much for charity."

Oh I forgot, we aren't doing him are we.