Author Topic: MDG Diagram Profile Toolbars  (Read 1829 times)

nweller

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
MDG Diagram Profile Toolbars
« on: August 22, 2016, 11:14:36 pm »
I am creating a custom MDG for the organisation I work for.  I am a bit stumped with the toolboxes.

I have 2 diagrams, application landscape and business capability landscape. 

I have toolbox profiles for each and in the diagram profile I have put an attribute of "toolbox", with a default value of the toolbox name.

When I publish the MDG I get the diagram types but when I create a diagram it doesn't have the toolbox, I have to manually add it.

When I use the Sample it comes up with the toolboxes automatically.

I cannot help thinking I am missing something obvious but I really cannot see what it is.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Many thanks,
Neil

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9658
  • Karma: +175/-150
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: MDG Diagram Profile Toolbars
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2016, 11:21:22 pm »
Unfortunately EA is is not forgiving when it comes to errors in profiles. My best advice: wait a day to cool down, start with a tiny example from scratch, once that works, extend it stepwise with what you already did.

q.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2016, 12:15:03 am by qwerty »

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8463
  • Karma: +207/-26
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: MDG Diagram Profile Toolbars
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2016, 11:55:39 pm »
Neil,

The name of the toolbox is put in the default value of the attribute with name "toolbox" of the diagram stereotype's metatype.
Make sure you copy/paste the name in order to avoid typos.

Geert

KP

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2529
  • Karma: +33/-2
    • View Profile
Re: MDG Diagram Profile Toolbars
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2016, 09:10:11 am »
Another check: open up your technology in a text editor and make sure your toolbox profiles are included in a <UIToolboxes> block. Here is an example from the wireframing technology that comes with EA:

Code: [Select]
  <UIToolboxes>
    <UMLProfile profiletype="uml2">
      <Documentation id="3CBF84EF-F" name="Android" version="1.0" notes="Android"/>

and this is referenced by the diagram profile like this:

Code: [Select]
          <Stereotype name="Android Wireframe" notes="Diagram for creating Android wireframe UI mockups." cx="175" cy="71" bgcolor="-1" fontcolor="-1" bordercolor="-1" borderwidth="-1" hideicon="0">
            <AppliesTo>
              <Apply type="Diagram_Custom">
                <Property name="styleex" value="Whiteboard=1;"/>
                <Property name="toolbox" value="Wireframing::Android"/>
                <Property name="alias" value="Android Wireframe"/>
              </Apply>
            </AppliesTo>
          </Stereotype>

"Wireframing" is the name of the technology.

Code: [Select]
<MDG.Technology version="1.0">
  <Documentation id="Wireframing" name="Wireframing" version="1.0.1" notes="Extends the built-in UI modeling in EA to improve support for wireframe UI mockups."/>

There are many more examples in the MDGTechnologies folder with your EA installation. And if all else fails, send your technology to Sparx Support and we can have a look for you.
The Sparx Team
support@sparxsystems.com

nweller

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: MDG Diagram Profile Toolbars
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2016, 08:37:05 pm »
Thanks everyone.  I will try all of those.