Author Topic: DBBuilder – need indication that Import/Synchronise has completed  (Read 2793 times)

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8197
  • Karma: +232/-129
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
The Database Builder (DBBuilder - DBB) is proving quite useful for our purposes.  But there is one part of the UI where things could be improved (surprise, surprise).   ;)

We need an indication that the operation that we've asked DBB to perform has completed.  It's not just a cosmetic issue.  If you don't know it's completed, you are tempted (and most often succumb) to re-running the operation.  Unfortunately, due to a suspect defect in the process, re-running the same operation is NOT non-destructive.  It may, for example, create spurious duplicate columns etc.

My personal preference is that the UI "kill two birds with one stone".   On completion of the operation, a dialog would appear saying that the operation has completed and as an optional button on the dialog, ask if we'd like the "generate differences" operation to be re-run (to indicate how well the previous operation has performed).

Thoughts?
Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11851
  • Karma: +460/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: DBBuilder – need indication that Import/Synchronise has completed
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2020, 05:42:05 pm »
Yes, please.

I've been doing the same thing, trying to synchronize my model with the physical database after every release.
More often then not I have to synchronize at least twice before the two models are really in synch.

It is indeed hard to see if the operation has completed (I sometimes check the task manager to be sure)

Geert

Graham_Moir

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 746
  • Karma: +9/-15
    • View Profile
Re: DBBuilder – need indication that Import/Synchronise has completed
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2020, 01:13:12 am »
+1

skiwi

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1979
  • Karma: +44/-82
    • View Profile
Re: DBBuilder – need indication that Import/Synchronise has completed
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2020, 09:48:31 am »
+1 too
Orthogonality rules
Using EA15.2 (1555) on Windows 10 Enterprise/64 bit. Repositories in SQLServer2019 & Access2003/JET4.0. WebEA on Pro Cloud Server 4.2.64

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8197
  • Karma: +232/-129
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: DBBuilder – need indication that Import/Synchronise has completed
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2020, 01:18:15 pm »
+1  (I've mentioned this on other posts)

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

Modesto Vega

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: +23/-8
    • View Profile
Re: DBBuilder – need indication that Import/Synchronise has completed
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2020, 05:55:36 pm »
+1