Author Topic: Use diagram filters to filter objects with certain attribute value  (Read 4758 times)

Moe

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Hello, EA experts,

Is there a way to filter objects with certain attribute value? For example (in the screenshots), can I filter to show only the objects where the attribute SWOT = Strength?

https://ibb.co/hM1Xnjj
https://ibb.co/nf0Psyy

If it it's not possible to be done using filter, is there any other way?

Thank you,
Mo
PhD Student - Systems Engineering

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12736
  • Karma: +361/-295
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Use diagram filters to filter objects with certain attribute value
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2021, 09:29:41 am »
I don't think so. I could think of a scipt making those Selectable (as diagram property) and then use the filter with that name. Does not sound that attractive. But hey, it's EA and we're doing strange things here all day.

q.

Moe

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: Use diagram filters to filter objects with certain attribute value
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2021, 09:53:50 am »
Thank you, q.

Let's see if there's other "more attractive" solutions. Unfortunately, I don't write scripts  :-[

I tried to use "Filters and Layers", but it does not work at all.

I created a Tag Value=Test for class 1
https://ibb.co/4tcTvw5

I set the filter
https://ibb.co/mJmhGNn

When I check the filter nothing happens.
https://ibb.co/RCR8h0h

Is this a bug?
« Last Edit: January 15, 2021, 11:35:55 am by Mo »
PhD Student - Systems Engineering

Moe

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: Use diagram filters to filter objects with certain attribute value
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2021, 05:02:45 am »
Any advice?  :)
PhD Student - Systems Engineering

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12736
  • Karma: +361/-295
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Use diagram filters to filter objects with certain attribute value
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2021, 11:15:28 am »
I just don't use EA's marketing features (even if they are useful in rare cases). I played with the filter for a bit and immediately stumbled upon bugs. So I guess you got another one.

q.

Moe

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: Use diagram filters to filter objects with certain attribute value
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2021, 11:19:31 am »
So it is really a bug! It's sad that it has been fixed since then. This feature is available since 2016!
PhD Student - Systems Engineering

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12736
  • Karma: +361/-295
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Use diagram filters to filter objects with certain attribute value
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2021, 11:22:23 am »
Well, that's a young bug. I had it with beasts more than 10 years old. Don't ask me which. I lost sight of any bugs in EA.

q.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2021, 07:54:27 pm by qwerty »

Moe

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: Use diagram filters to filter objects with certain attribute value
« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2021, 11:53:44 am »
 ;D
PhD Student - Systems Engineering

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11731
  • Karma: +454/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Use diagram filters to filter objects with certain attribute value
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2021, 06:21:23 pm »
I just quickly tested it, and it works for me.

But if you set the filter on "contains" "test" then if will filter out all elements that don't have "test" as value in a tagged value.

Setting the filter to "not equals" works to filter out the ones that have "test" as tagged value. Downside of this approach is that it also filters all elements without tagged values.

Geert

Moe

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: Use diagram filters to filter objects with certain attribute value
« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2021, 05:34:54 pm »
Thank you so much for your response, Geert. I have just seen it today.

I tried the filters one more time and for some unknown reasons it worked as you explained!

Thank you,
Mo
PhD Student - Systems Engineering