Author Topic: Missing MDG Technology  (Read 1502 times)

aljazjelen

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Missing MDG Technology
« on: January 21, 2021, 04:56:14 am »
Hi everyone,

We are having an issue with MDG technology packages.

Long story short, we created a custom package which would help us modeling. One of our colleague imported the MDG a bit differently than everyone else, somehow the MDG package on his computer resides on %appdata%.

Now here comes the issue. He started modelling with this setup and now no-one except him can open his models. We all receive the message: "Access to this model requires the following technologies which are not available ...".

Has anyone ever had similar issues? I guess we need to "import the MDG into his EA correctly" and then break the link of the previous version.

Thanks for support!
Regards


Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11852
  • Karma: +460/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Missing MDG Technology
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2021, 05:30:41 am »
Hi,

Seems like someone (probably the one coworker that can still access the model) has set this MDG to be a required MDG for this model.

The easiest to fix that is to let your coworker that still has access go to Configure | Model | Options | MDG Technologies and uncheck all checkboxes.

The hard way is to connect to your database and clear the flags there. There should be a few topics in the forum that explain how to do that.

Geert

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11852
  • Karma: +460/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Missing MDG Technology
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2021, 05:33:37 am »
This update query clears all the required MDG technologies from a model:

Code: [Select]
update t_genopt set [Option] = null where AppliesTo = 'MDGRequire'
Geert

aljazjelen

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Missing MDG Technology
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2021, 06:20:11 pm »
Hi Geert,

Thanks again for support. Unfortunatelly unchecking the boxes doesnt work, because doing so, it unchecks both version of MDG (correct and incorrect version).
Personally I havent seen anything like this before.

In regards to update query, we will give it a shot today.

Best regards

aljazjelen

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Missing MDG Technology
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2021, 07:06:34 pm »
Hi everyone reading this.

So we couldnt fix it with the update or simple "unchecking the box". So instead we exported his work as "xml", reverted down the version of our EA model which worked for all of us and imported back his work.
This works fine, because his MDG and our MDG are basically the same in naming, the difference being some stereotypes only.

So upon importing the "xml" in the stable version of EA model, the stereotypes of his classes automatically detected MDG of the model instead of his user MDG (which we deleted beforehand).

I hope I was clear with explanation, in case someone in future encounters similar issues.

Regards

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11852
  • Karma: +460/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Missing MDG Technology
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2021, 08:03:29 pm »
Hi Geert,

Thanks again for support. Unfortunatelly unchecking the boxes doesnt work, because doing so, it unchecks both version of MDG (correct and incorrect version).
Personally I havent seen anything like this before.

In regards to update query, we will give it a shot today.

Best regards
Are you sure you were on the right dialog?
If you uncheck everything from this dialog, EA will not stop you from opening the model anymore.
This is not the enable/disable MDG dialog (although that one looks similar)

Geert

aljazjelen

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Missing MDG Technology
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2021, 12:33:20 am »
Hi Geert, sorry for takign so much time.

Yes we were in correct dialog.

The issue was, that one MDG was "as a part of the model" and another MDG was "imported from user".

The 2 MDGs were exactly the same, except one was outdated. Somehow EA library (of our MDG) decided to use the outdated version which caused consistency issues with the rest of our documents.

Anyhow, we fixed it by exporting XML, deleting the MDG of the user under %app, opening the latest "okay" version in our versioning system and imported XML again.

No work was lost.

Thanks for support!