Author Topic: Class diagram instance starts off locked, whilst all others start unlocked  (Read 1738 times)

TonyC

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
I have a strange situation where when I try to create a new Class diagram it appears in my browser windows with the red exclamation mark (locked). I can then set the lock diagram status to unlocked, but am still unable to add classes to the diagram - I get "There was an error creating the requested element. Please try again later".

I can create diagrams of other types OK. They start in the unlocked state and I can add elements to them.

As well as Class diagrams I have the same problem with diagrams in my MDG Technology. My MDG technology extends the Class metaclass - could this be related? I have deleted my MDG but the error persists.

Earlier, I tried changing the lock policy to always lock, realised that this was not my preferred policy and attempted to undo by setting Enable Security to unset by reentering the authorization code and then switching it back on by reapplying the authorization code. This seems related to the Class diagram starting off locked.

Any thoughts gratefully received, thank you.

TonyC

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Class diagram instance starts off locked, whilst all others start unlocked
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2022, 04:37:52 am »
I should have added that after the "try again later" error popup I immediately get the "Invalid/illegal base type 'Class' Command:UML::Class" error popup.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12814
  • Karma: +366/-295
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Class diagram instance starts off locked, whilst all others start unlocked
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2022, 10:03:57 am »
You turned off all add-ins, I'd guess?

q.

TonyC

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Class diagram instance starts off locked, whilst all others start unlocked
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2022, 11:50:40 pm »
Thanks for your reply q. I have no add-ins installed. The Manage Add-Ins dialog is empty.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12814
  • Karma: +366/-295
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Class diagram instance starts off locked, whilst all others start unlocked
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2022, 12:06:30 am »
What about security? Have you run a consistency check?

q.

TonyC

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Class diagram instance starts off locked, whilst all others start unlocked
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2022, 12:26:40 am »
Yes, I ran a consistency check and there was a list of things to be fixed. I took a backup then fixed the things. I reran the consistency check and there were no more inconsistencies. Unfortunately, my problem of trying to create classes and getting the "illegal" message remained.

Because it appeared that some packages remained locked and some were not I thought maybe the switching between locking policies had caused the problem. So I have switched it back on, then switched it back off. It took something like 20 minutes but I made sure that it completed. Good news, everything is unlocked and I can now create classes again (phew!). I suspect that I lost network connection when I switched between locking policies previously, which put the repository into an inconsistent state (but not one that the inconsistency checker could pick up). I won't be doing that again anytime soon!

Thanks for all your assistance, much appreciated.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12814
  • Karma: +366/-295
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Class diagram instance starts off locked, whilst all others start unlocked
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2022, 09:08:50 am »
Sou you're using version control? I stepped back from that a long time ago. Taking regular snapshots and working on a central DB with require user lock to edit is the best way to collaborate. Shared packages will always be a PITA and need a good config mgmt. At least someone sitting around who knows how to fix such things...

q.

TonyC

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Class diagram instance starts off locked, whilst all others start unlocked
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2022, 04:32:27 am »
Thanks q for the recommendation re taking regular snapshots and working on a central DB with "require user lock to edit" being the best way to collaborate. We haven't gone down the version control route, hence why I was trying to work out the best alternative. Thanks again.

Tony