Author Topic: Missing port on an instance of a block in IBD diagram  (Read 3094 times)

VincentB

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Missing port on an instance of a block in IBD diagram
« on: October 27, 2022, 10:02:12 pm »
Hi everybody,

I'm using SysML in EA (Version 16). I created a BDD diagram with 2 Blocks (Block1 and Block2). I added a proxy port to Block 2 and created a "composition to whole" relationship from Block 2 to Block 1.



When I create a child diagram (Internal Block Diagram) for Block 1, I open the IBD diagram and right-click "Synchronize Structural Elements". My Block 2 appears like I wanted, but I cannot see its port. 


I remember in the past, with another version of EA, being able to see the list of structural elements and being able show/hide inherited ones, including the port of block2. With EA 16, I tried right clicking on the block2 in the IBD diagram and checking all the boxes of the "Compartment visibility...", including inherited attributes and operations, but it still doesn't show the port. Do you know how I can have the port I created in the BDD diagram into the IBD diagram without having to recreate manually a new port?

Thanks in advance!

Vincent

Aiden

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Missing port on an instance of a block in IBD diagram
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2022, 11:03:02 pm »
Hi Vincent

have you tried right clicking on the ibd itself and checking that properties there? ports may be unselected in the diagram or elements tab.

another fix you could try is delete the ibd and on the bdd select the port and hit delete, this should put the port inside the block as writing, then create a new child element (ibd) and hopefully the port is there.

I am very new to EA so this might not be the best fix but it has worked for me.

 

VincentB

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Missing port on an instance of a block in IBD diagram
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2022, 11:48:56 pm »
Thanks for your help Aiden. When I generate the IBD child diagram from the block1 element in the BDD, it creates an instance of the Block2 inside the IBD diagram of block1, but the port of the block2 is not instantiated, weirdly enough. So I think the IBD cannot see any port, even changing the properties of the diagram (like the compartment visibility).


For your other proposal, if I hit delete on the port of Block 2 in the BDD diagram, the port will indeed appear in writing inside the block, but the difference is only visual. In the IBD, the port still won't exist after I synchronize structural element again.

So I'm still looking for an answer :)

Aiden

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Missing port on an instance of a block in IBD diagram
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2022, 12:04:06 am »
I'm all out off answers now, hopefully someone on here can help fix it !

A link I use all the time could be worth a read.
https://sparxsystems.com/resources/user-guides/15.2/guidebooks/mbse-and-sysml.pdf

PeterHeintz

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 938
  • Karma: +57/-18
    • View Profile
Re: Missing port on an instance of a block in IBD diagram
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2022, 05:51:32 pm »
Select your Block2 property on your IBD. Open or thelect the "Features" window. Select "Interaction Points" within the window and check your port with the check box.
Best regards,

Peter Heintz

VincentB

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Missing port on an instance of a block in IBD diagram
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2022, 07:56:44 pm »
Thanks a lot Peter! It was the solution!

I actually tried before right clicking on Features and nothing was opening, no new window. But since you told me this, I tried for 10 minutes to find out why, and the window was opening, but was below the diagram, completely hidden. Once I expanded it, I could see the list of ports and select it! Thanks again!  :D

PeterHeintz

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 938
  • Karma: +57/-18
    • View Profile
Re: Missing port on an instance of a block in IBD diagram
« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2022, 08:02:27 pm »
In the same way you can work e.g. for your "Parts/Properties.
Best regards,

Peter Heintz