Author Topic: Duplicate profile name  (Read 1163 times)

ngong

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: +1/-2
    • View Profile
Duplicate profile name
« on: January 07, 2023, 12:47:02 am »
WARNING: Duplicate profile name: MyProfile UML Profile, detected in technology ID: 22B21552-1

When opening this model, I get this message.
Yet, I can not find any problem with the model.
In Browser/Resources/UML Profiles and in Manage Technologies that profile appears only ones.
Is it save to ignore the warning?
Any idea to get rid of it?

Rolf
Rolf

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13514
  • Karma: +394/-299
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Duplicate profile name
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2023, 12:54:39 am »
Look into the Resources window. You will probably find two profiles there.

q.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12925
  • Karma: +537/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Duplicate profile name
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2023, 04:14:28 am »
You might also be loading an MDG twice. (once in the model, and once in your profile or something similar-

Geert

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13514
  • Karma: +394/-299
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Duplicate profile name
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2023, 08:03:19 am »
@Geert I had this issue also and IIRC you find all profiles in the Resources window.

q.

ngong

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: +1/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Duplicate profile name
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2023, 04:16:13 am »
sorry, qwerty, the Resources window shows the profile only ones.
Geert, I have the profile defined as a package in the using project itself. And I experienced differences (in overriding existing stereotypes) when I export to and import from xml compared to Specialize/Publish Technology/Import Package as UML Profile. Could be that these two different methods of importing a profile may have triggered the problem.

Now the problem is in the model.

Any idea to repair that and get rid of the Warning?
My last resort would be to export and import the model as XMI. As I am staying away from non-UML things, this should work. However, a less drastic method would be preferred.
Rolf

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13514
  • Karma: +394/-299
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Duplicate profile name
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2023, 11:01:18 am »
If you have it imported in the resources (you say it's there once) AND you have it via the Advanced menu from Specialize then there you are. Remove it either from the resources or disable it from the Advanced menu. EA is EA and it's weird (just learned about two ways of hidind MDGs which are both there but one of them is wrong!).

q.

ngong

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: +1/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Duplicate profile name
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2023, 09:10:35 pm »
Super!
qwerty, you are completely right with your 2 analyses:
- if there is a profile as MDG technology with the same name as in resources, these profiles specify different stereotypes even though they have the same name
- EA is weird

I implicitly believed, that updating a profile via Specialize or via importing as resource would led to the same result. A warning would have been good at time of importing, not afterwards.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2023, 09:22:02 pm by ngong »
Rolf

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13514
  • Karma: +394/-299
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Duplicate profile name
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2023, 10:12:11 pm »
I still remember falling into this trap once exchanging models with colleagues. I was developing the profile and had it in the Advanced menu to see changes early. They had it imported in the model for their convenience. Once I looked into one of their models I was sent it kept me scratching my head why my profile changes were not seen. I think that G.S. was a fan of that silly minesweeper game...

q.