Author Topic: Feature linked Note - How  (Read 4095 times)

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8197
  • Karma: +232/-129
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Feature linked Note - How
« on: August 13, 2005, 09:47:45 pm »
I can get hold of the Note, and I can get hold of the Note Link with Automation, but I can't see how to get hold of the fact that the note may or may not be linked to an element feature.

Has anybody figured out how to do it?

Cheerz,
Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

KP

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2901
  • Karma: +52/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Feature linked Note - How
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2005, 04:36:18 pm »
A couple of quick tests...

1. I linked a note to an element's note field and the following changes appeared in the note's record in t_object: PDATA1 --> "Element Note", PDATA2 --> the element's ID, PDATA4 --> "Yes".

2. I linked a note to an element's attribute and the following changes appeared: PDATA1 --> "Attribute", PDATA2 --> the attribute's ID, PDATA3 --> the attribute's name, PDATA4 --> "Yes".

I would assume the other types behave similarly, but investigation would be needed.

HTH,

Neil
The Sparx Team
support@sparxsystems.com

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8197
  • Karma: +232/-129
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Feature linked Note - How
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2005, 04:48:45 pm »
Thanx Neil,

So, for Automation, I use get_MiscData(n-1) right?

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8197
  • Karma: +232/-129
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Feature linked Note - How
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2005, 08:00:08 am »
Neil,

Just a further clarification if I may.  Although the UI requires you to act on the connector (link), the linkage is actually directly in  the element (note).  Correct?

Cheerz,
Paolo

Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

KP

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2901
  • Karma: +52/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Feature linked Note - How
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2005, 03:51:01 pm »
Paolo,

1. Yes, PDATA1..PDATA5 map to MiscData(0)..MiscData(4)

2. Yes, information held for the note, not the note link

Neil  :)
The Sparx Team
support@sparxsystems.com