Author Topic: <<new>> message implies end of lifecyc  (Read 1455 times)

Erik Finnegan

• EA Novice
    • View Profile
<<new>> message implies end of lifecyc
« on: March 31, 2004, 01:00:03 pm »
Hi all,

in a sequence diagram, when I am modeling the creation of a new object with the message of lifecycle type <<new>>, it seems to always imply the destruction of the object at the end of its activation layer, i.e. the dotted life line ends in an "X" after the last outgoing call.

How can I make the lifeline go through until the end of the diagram (just like any other object in the diagram) to indicate the ongoing existence of that newly created object instance?

I appreciate your help.

Erik

andro

• EA Novice
    • View Profile
Re: <<new>> message implies end of lif
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2004, 02:10:34 pm »
Hi Erik.
I don't think I'm gonna help you, as I'm also a newbie.  I wonder though what could be the purpose of having the object existing until the end of the sequence, if you don't use it anymore. In other words, if you need it, there's surely a message to be sent to it or to come out of it, and if you draw such a message, the destruction point will be moved after it, right?
andro.

sargasso

• EA Practitioner
  • 10 COMFROM 30; 20 HALT; 30 ONSUB(50,90,10)
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2004, 06:21:40 pm »
I think Erik's problem is that the destruction of the object ( the X) is not moveable.

Consider:
1 User starts app (invoke new static Main::Thread)
2. Main creates new object MyMenu::Menu
3. MyMenu creates a set of menuitems and adds them to itself (call new MyMenuItem::MenuItem.AddItem)
4. User clicks on a menu item (call MyMenuItem[x].Click)
5*. Repeat 4 until menu item clicked is "Exit"
6. MyMenuItem("Exit").Click handler calls Main.Exit (lifecycle = delete)

The "X" denoting the extinction of the MyMenu object is located just after message 3.