Author Topic: Status property and tagged values for diagrams  (Read 346 times)

jörg

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Status property and tagged values for diagrams
« on: October 09, 2018, 07:30:47 pm »
For using diagrams in requirements engineering, it is needed to have at least a status property and tagged values in diagrams, as they are available in elements.
Maybe is should be possible to add an element reference to a diagram as packages have it (EA.Package.Element). In my opinion this can solve the problem since all element properties will be available to a diagram too, then and it should be able to do that without a database change (adding diagram to the t_object table).

Maybe there are more requirements engineers that have an opinion about that theme?

PeterHeintz

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 749
  • Karma: +45/-17
    • View Profile
Re: Status property and tagged values for diagrams
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2018, 08:18:03 pm »
+1 because I miss that feature e.g. to state if a diagram was already reviewed or not.
Best regards,

Peter Heintz

Ian Mitchell

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: +5/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Status property and tagged values for diagrams
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2018, 07:34:12 pm »
+1 from me as well.
There all kinds of reasons to attach TVs to a diagram , for example, to remember its status (reviewed etc) so @Sparx this would be a great feature. Can't see a simple place to put them:
- t_objectproperties looks to have secondary key of the Object_ID, which would get confused with diagram_ID.
- t_xref - where all the strange new stuff seems to go...
Or
- t_diagramlinks - at least this will get tidied-up when the diagram gets deleted, but I've just tried this approach, and any new t_diagramlink rows don't get exported when we XMI the diagram.
- create an invisible element in the diagram, and give the TVs to that? Horrible :-(

Any requirement for this should probably include the ability to move the diagram between repositories.
Any more suggestions for how to do this?
Ian Mitchell, Designer, eaDocX

www.eaDocX.com
www.theartfulmodeller.com

Ian Mitchell

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: +5/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Status property and tagged values for diagrams
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2018, 07:43:16 pm »
There also seems to be somewhere in the XMI format where this data might fit, if @Sparx were to create a solution for us.
<diagrams> seem to have an <extendedProperties> tag, which is used by elements, but not by diagrams (at least in my examples) so there is a possibility that this might be used to hold diagram tagged values.
Needs a Sparx implementation though...
Ian Mitchell, Designer, eaDocX

www.eaDocX.com
www.theartfulmodeller.com

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8532
  • Karma: +208/-26
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Status property and tagged values for diagrams
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2018, 08:03:30 pm »
There is actually a table called t_taggedValue table that is used for parameter tags and connector role tags.
They should be able to use it for diagram tags as well.

Geert

Ian Mitchell

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: +5/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Status property and tagged values for diagrams
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2018, 09:29:16 pm »
...never noticed that table before...
Looks like it's keyed on a GUID, so should do the job OK.
I guess we will have to do our own tidy-up, to delete entries here when a diagram gets deleted, but I'll give this a try.
I still that that the right way to do this is for @Sparx to deliver a solid solution.
Ian Mitchell, Designer, eaDocX

www.eaDocX.com
www.theartfulmodeller.com

philchudley

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 544
  • Karma: +9/-0
  • UML/EA Principal Consultant / Trainer
    • View Profile
Re: Status property and tagged values for diagrams
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2018, 10:58:24 pm »
I too would like tagged values directly on a diagram.

In the meantime, there is a rather ugly workaround.

  • Drag a diagram as a Diagram Frame onto another diagram
  • Move this Diagram Frame to the same package as the Diagram
  • Make the diagram a child element of the Diagram Frame
Diagram Frames can have Tagged Values just like another elements, and of course you can use relationships to / from (for example realisation of Requirements)

Just a thought

Phil


follow me on Twitter

@SparxEAGuru

wahidovic123

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Status property and tagged values for diagrams
« Reply #7 on: Today at 08:01:30 am »
...never noticed that table before...
Looks like it's keyed on a GUID, so should do the job OK.
I guess we will have to do our own tidy-up, to delete entries here when a diagram gets deleted, but I'll give this a try.
I still that that the right way to do this is for @Sparx to deliver a solid solution
Lucky Patcher 9Apps VidMate
yes I agree with you the good way to go is that @Sparx offers a solid solution
thanks
« Last Edit: Today at 07:56:59 pm by wahidovic123 »