Author Topic: Sense of UML  (Read 7664 times)

mikewhit

• EA User
  • Accessing ....
    • View Profile
Re: Sense of UML
« Reply #30 on: October 17, 2005, 10:00:39 am »
That's what I was getting at.

There is no need to model the lifecycle of the person - only to respond to such events as the system may receive from the real world: which must of course have been accurately enumerated by the RA.

I just need an abstraction of an account-holder, not a Person.

Well, I can see a distinction :-)

Kevin Brennan

• EA User
    • View Profile
« Reply #31 on: October 17, 2005, 12:18:59 pm »
It seems to me that there's a little confusion here between the problem domain (the real world which we model) and the solution domain (what is inside the computer).

In the real world, the person dies. But in our solution, is death a terminal state? (Sorry).

As a requirements analyst, I'd have to ask how the system gets informed of the real-world event and what happens next. I'd imagine that the process is distinct from simple account closure. If a person closes their own account, that's their perogative. In this case you need to verify that some other person has the legal authority to close the account, which probably entails some proof of death and stuff that impacts other accounts.

So I'd start with a use case like "Accept Customer Death" and go from there.  Depending on the circumstances accounts might be transferred, closed, etc.

From the analysis perspective, account-holder is an association class between Person and Account, I think, not a class that exists in the absence of those things? But I guess it depends on your domain...
Sr. Consultant at blue sands Inc. and Vice President, Body of Knowledge at the IIBA. All opinions are my own.

mikewhit

• EA User
  • Accessing ....
    • View Profile
« Reply #32 on: October 18, 2005, 01:24:24 am »
Crikey, I seem to have summoned up a Business Analyst !

Thanks !

jeshaw2

• EA User
  • I'm a Singleton, what pattern are you?