Author Topic: How should I describe the behaviour of a system?  (Read 1013 times)

han

• EA Novice
    • View Profile
How should I describe the behaviour of a system?
« on: December 13, 2006, 09:37:48 am »
Hi all,

I am pretty new to modelling with EA, but I like the tool so far. I use it only as an upper CASE tool, so only do design a system. Not for code generation or what.

I have been looking at the example model, and started from what i saw there. Now I have abstract classes defined in a design model, and I have a bunch of usecases.
Currently, I am going to specify the user interface. This will result in a set of screens, with associations to usecases.

What I am looking for is a way to describe the operations,    that describe how the system actually behaves. I could associate these operations to the buttons etc. on the screen. I do not feel that these operations should all be operations of the classes.
Also, I need a neat way to specify what attributes are used in those operations.

I cannot see how these things are done in the example model. Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanx!

Han.

«Midnight»

• EA Guru
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: How should I describe the behaviour of a syste
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2006, 09:58:12 am »
Han,

There's a lot of ways to go about this. Depending on who you're listening to, each way has the advantage of being better than all the others.  :D Let's see if I can start you off in a useful direction.

Take some time to look through this forum (all sections) for some really good advice on this. There are quite a few members who've got some really good approaches. They have spent the time and effort to either leverage EA to support use cases or adapt to EA tp their approaches (or both).

Chime if folks!