Author Topic: BPMN Pools and Lanes  (Read 5989 times)

Michelle_L

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
BPMN Pools and Lanes
« on: January 03, 2007, 11:17:28 am »
I am using the BPMN add-in (version 1.3) for EA 6.5.  I'm creating pools and using the tagged values to create lanes in the pools.  The dialog box seems only to allow me to create one lane per pool.  What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,
Michelle L

KP

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2901
  • Karma: +52/-3
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2007, 03:13:09 pm »
You could add another tag with the same name. First you will need to go to "Tools | Options | Objects" and check the option "Show Duplicate Tags".
The Sparx Team
support@sparxsystems.com

Michelle_L

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2007, 05:26:03 am »
Thanks for the reply.  When I drag a pool (with lanes) into a diagram from the project browser, the lanes don't appear inside the pool.  Should they?

Michelle

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2007, 06:14:57 am »
Where did you get the diagram from? Did you create it using the BPMN add-in, or are you just using a diagram created via the EA main menu (or another of the 'normal' ways)?
No, you can't have it!

Michelle_L

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2007, 06:31:53 am »
With the BPMN Add-In (Add new Diagram menu item).  According to the tagged values, the lanes are part of the pool once the pool is dragged into the diagram but they don't show up.

Thanks

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2007, 07:29:40 am »
I get the same problem when I try this. Dragging lanes onto the diagram, whether or not I place them into a pool, does not set the tagged value for either possible containing element (pool or lane). Playing around with the element sizes (so a lane can be dropped entirely inside a pool for example) appears to have no effect.

When you say "according to the tagged values, the lanes are part of the pool..." what do you mean? EA does not seem to be setting these values automatically. Setting them by hand does not seem to make any difference.

David
No, you can't have it!

Michelle_L

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2007, 07:49:01 am »
Thank you.

When I say "according to the tagged values", I mean that I set the tagged values manually (creating lanes within the pool) and EA seems to retain that data.  But I agree with your observation that nothing you do in a diagram has any effect on the tagged values.

I'm new to EA (and BPMN).  Do we wait now for someone from Sparx to pick up this thread and either explain what we're doing wrong or acknowledge a problem?

Michelle

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2007, 08:36:38 am »
Or, if you don't hear soon send in a support request via the support page - there's a link at the top of the forum page.

Remember that Sparx is in the land of AUS, and they're sleeping now.
No, you can't have it!

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8192
  • Karma: +232/-129
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2007, 02:15:25 pm »
Quote
Remember that Sparx is in the land of AUS, and they're sleeping now.
Pah-lease... We antipodeans are in the land of OZ... Just at the end of the yellow brick road...  ;D

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2007, 04:47:48 pm »
Paolo,

You know I consider you all to be of great value. Why else would I leave you all that good beer? And hard working. How else would you know you deserved that beer?

That said, surely you understand that considering said value I would never, however indirectly, make a reference to a line of goldbricks.

David

It's Friday evening here - I'm going to open a cold one.  ;D
No, you can't have it!

jbettencourt

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2007, 01:37:46 pm »
I'm having the same problem with lanes and pools.  Has there been a resolution?

Michelle_L

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2007, 07:10:52 am »
I ended up exchanging a bunch of ideas directly with Sparx technical support.  I can forward you those emails if you provide me your email address.  Mine is michelle.lebreux@cma.ca

Michelle

mikewhit

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 608
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Accessing ....
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #12 on: February 26, 2007, 08:27:36 am »
Beware of publishing your email addresses on forum pages - use forum messaging for this if poss, to avoid your email address getting spammed.

You can 'Modify' your last posting to remove the address if you want to.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2007, 08:28:26 am by mikewhit »

Graham_Moir

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 746
  • Karma: +9/-15
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #13 on: March 01, 2007, 05:21:38 am »
As well as removing your e-mail address, how about sharing the solution or workaround here for everyone to see ?
« Last Edit: March 01, 2007, 05:21:56 am by Graham_Moir »

Michelle_L

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: BPMN Pools and Lanes
« Reply #14 on: March 14, 2007, 04:28:07 am »
Here is what I learned about lanes and pools:

There are three alternative approaches for indicating that a lane is
owned by a specific pool:

a) You can show the lane enclosed by the pool on a diagram;
b) You can have the lane owned by the pool in the Project View hierarchy; or
c) You can set the "Pool" tagged value for the lane element.

You can use all three in combination if you wish, but each individual
approach is unambiguous on its own. Unfortunately, the add-in isn't able
to automatically update tagged values when elements are moved in the
diagram or Project View, or vice versa.


Michelle