Author Topic: TemplateBinding  (Read 4821 times)

meierch

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Modeling we can!
    • View Profile
TemplateBinding
« on: August 09, 2007, 09:35:22 am »
In one of my current projects I deal with a lot of parameterised classes. It would be a big benefit to have a real support for the binding of template arguments in EA. Are there any plans to integrate this soon?

Regards
Christian
Regards
Christian

amacara1

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TemplateBinding
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2023, 02:02:19 am »
I hit the same problem these days. Using EA 16 to model C++, I am able to set type of attributes in a templatized class, but not type of parameters or return type of operations in the same templatized class

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12995
  • Karma: +544/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: TemplateBinding
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2023, 02:06:40 am »
Hi amacara1,

Please note that this is a user forum, and as such a way for EA users to communicate amongts themselves.

This is no official communication channel to Sparx Systems. If you would like that, you can send a feature request using the link on the bottom of this page: https://sparxsystems.com/support/forms/feature_request.html

Geert

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13525
  • Karma: +395/-300
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: TemplateBinding
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2023, 10:15:20 am »
Round about 15 years after asking there does not seem to be much response. So, honestly, I would not hold my breath once sending a feature request. But sending none will definitely result in no action on Sparx' side. Except they have a dull day in the dev-department and someone starts something on his own.

q.

BobM

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 129
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TemplateBinding
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2023, 01:24:24 am »
Round about 15 years after asking there does not seem to be much response. So, honestly, I would not hold my breath once sending a feature request. But sending none will definitely result in no action on Sparx' side. Except they have a dull day in the dev-department and someone starts something on his own.

q.

I just checked and none of my feature requests sent by me via feature requests have entered Sparx
What did enter Sparx was everything that went via support either trough a bug report or a "can't find this feature where logic dictates it should be there" question to support

and it ends with:
Code: [Select]
I will submit a feature request on your behalf so that this is considered for implementation in a future release.

If you have further questions or issues please let us know.
Best regards,

Sparx Employee
Sparx Systems Pty Ltd
[email protected]
http://www.sparxsystems.com

I think they do read the feature requests submitted by their own employees

Do take in account that every feature introduced this way was actually something missing in Sparx that should have been there (but if it isn't there its in name a new feature request, not a bug but it might be it ends up with the bug department in the Sparx backoffice) - Kudos to this department