Author Topic: Open a View programmatically?  (Read 3417 times)

Colin Richardson

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Open a View programmatically?
« on: August 10, 2010, 02:13:10 pm »
Hi All,

Any ideas on how to open one of the items under the View menu via an add-in?

Reason being, I've created an add-in that appears in the add-in window via Repository.AddWindow and I want to ensure people can see it!

Daniel Siegl

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Open a View programmatically?
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2010, 08:22:46 pm »
We are having the same need - anybody got a good solution?
Not just a Regkey solution?
we want to display the "add-in" pane
« Last Edit: August 31, 2010, 08:23:22 pm by daniels »

Colin Richardson

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Open a View programmatically?
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2010, 10:52:50 am »
The guys raised a feature request for me, so hopefully it'll come through soon.

They're pretty speedy so fingers crossed!

Sue Maurizio

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Open a View programmatically?
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2010, 06:06:04 pm »
Same problem here... Any ideas?

Daniel Siegl

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Open a View programmatically?
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2010, 06:09:02 pm »
We have Ideas, but have not implemented any so far!

* have setup set a Keyboard Shortcut, use send keys to open the view
* send windows messages to the menu

Will tell you once we have something running.

beginner

  • Guest
Re: Open a View programmatically?
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2010, 06:14:44 pm »
Sounds like a real windoze solution. You'll need real programmers for that.

b.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2010, 06:17:46 pm by beginner »

Daniel Siegl

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Open a View programmatically?
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2010, 12:33:29 am »
Sending keys works but is a "real" hack, and has limitations!
Once people change shortcuts or use localized version it will be gone.

==> Maintance Nightmare

Daniel Siegl

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Open a View programmatically?
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2010, 12:35:39 am »
Simple SendKeys didn't work - but we where successfull using:

http://w3.c-plusplus.info/forum/viewtopic-var-p-is-1576765.html

keybd_event( )

Daniel Siegl

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Open a View programmatically?
« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2010, 11:31:08 pm »

beginner

  • Guest
Re: Open a View programmatically?
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2010, 04:38:23 pm »
"fist" state machine. Vienna is back in the ring!

b.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12258
  • Karma: +484/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Open a View programmatically?
« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2010, 04:44:15 pm »
Quote
"fist" state machine. Vienna is back in the ring!

b.

Oh, should at least have been "frist statemachine" ;)

Geert

Daniel Siegl

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Open a View programmatically?
« Reply #11 on: September 13, 2010, 04:45:11 pm »
If you make a typo and find out after publishing it is really shit....

beginner

  • Guest
Re: Open a View programmatically?
« Reply #12 on: September 14, 2010, 04:39:22 am »
Wer den Schaden hat, spottet jeder Beschreibung.

b.