Author Topic: EA compatibility with Win 11  (Read 2407 times)

Moe

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
EA compatibility with Win 11
« on: January 09, 2022, 12:27:10 pm »
I use EA on a Windows VM run on Parallels Desktop for Mac. To run Windows on the new Mac devices with Apple M1 chip (replacing the Intel chip) through Parallels desktop, you will need an ARM64-build Windows OS.

The only ARM64 build officially available for download is Windows 11 22000.132.

To get unofficial Windows 10 ARM64 you have to go through a very long process with many steps to get Windows 10 ARM64 Dev build installed on a Mac with M1 chip. It took me several hours to do this on the new Mac mini M1.

Do you know when EA will be available for Win 11?

Moe
PhD Student - Systems Engineering

Sunshine

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1191
  • Karma: +105/-10
  • Its the results that count
    • View Profile
Re: EA compatibility with Win 11
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2022, 03:04:16 pm »
Been using EA V15.2 and V16 Beta on windows 11 for months now  with out issue.
Happy to help
:)

Moe

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: EA compatibility with Win 11
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2022, 05:43:33 pm »
Quote
Been using EA V15.2 and V16 Beta on windows 11 for months now  with out issue.

Thank you, Sunshine! I wish I had asked earlier. I referred to Sparx EA system requirements page (link below) and I have not seen Windows 11 listed yet, therefore I assumed it's not yet supported.
https://sparxsystems.com/products/ea/sysreq.html
PhD Student - Systems Engineering

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8157
  • Karma: +231/-129
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: EA compatibility with Win 11
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2022, 07:44:26 pm »
Quote
Been using EA V15.2 and V16 Beta on windows 11 for months now  with out issue.

Thank you, Sunshine! I wish I had asked earlier. I referred to Sparx EA system requirements page (link below) and I have not seen Windows 11 listed yet, therefore I assumed it's not yet supported.
https://sparxsystems.com/products/ea/sysreq.html
Moe, as you should know by now,  compatible with, and supported are two different concepts...    ;)


Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12778
  • Karma: +363/-295
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: EA compatibility with Win 11
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2022, 10:46:02 pm »
I'm forced to use W11 since it's the only Windoze to run on ARM (may Mac M1). Works like on all Windozes.

q.

Moe

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: EA compatibility with Win 11
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2022, 06:16:12 am »
Thank you @Paolo for the note  :)

My understanding to the difference between supported and compatible is that:
  • Supported OS: The current release has been tested (by QA) on the OS and the SW creator will provide support for it.
  • Compatible OS: The current release has not been tested (by QA) and the SW creator will not provide support for it, however based on testing in previous releases and knowledge of the OS, it is expected that the current release will work on the OS

Given that Sparx EA system requirements web page does not list Windows 11, but the current release works on Windows 11 (as reported by some users), I would say that the current release of EA is compatible with Windows 11 but not (officially) supported

Please correct me if I am wrong, I am here to learn from you guys  :)
« Last Edit: January 10, 2022, 06:18:48 am by Moe »
PhD Student - Systems Engineering

Moe

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: EA compatibility with Win 11
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2022, 06:20:02 am »
Quote
I'm forced to use W11 since it's the only Windoze to run on ARM (may Mac M1). Works like on all Windozes.

Thank you @qwerty for confirming that EA works on Windows 11.
PhD Student - Systems Engineering