Author Topic: MDG - Disable 'Show Namespace' for all diagrams in MDG  (Read 592 times)

JamesM

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
MDG - Disable 'Show Namespace' for all diagrams in MDG
« on: May 20, 2022, 07:51:23 pm »
This appears to be a dark art!  I've trawled this forum and have not found the definitive answer.

I have an MDG with a number of new diagram types.  I wish to ensure that when these diagrams are created, none of them will be plagued by the 'Show Namespace'.   Please can someone direct me as to how to disable this using the MDG technology builder.

Sunshine

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1202
  • Karma: +108/-10
  • Its the results that count
    • View Profile
Re: MDG - Disable 'Show Namespace' for all diagrams in MDG
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2022, 05:45:43 am »
Is this the section you are after?
https://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/16.0/modeling_frameworks/attribute_values-stylex__pda.html
Think its NoFullScope=1 you want to set in styleex
Happy to help
:)

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12828
  • Karma: +366/-295
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: MDG - Disable 'Show Namespace' for all diagrams in MDG
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2022, 05:54:40 am »
No, it's some of the MDG settings he is after. I'm a bit out of synch at the moment. But IIRC Paolo had some (manual) black magic to set these properties. Can't recall the details and don't have time at the moment to check it by myself.

q.

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8195
  • Karma: +232/-129
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: MDG - Disable 'Show Namespace' for all diagrams in MDG
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2022, 11:23:21 am »
No, it's some of the MDG settings he is after. I'm a bit out of synch at the moment. But IIRC Paolo had some (manual) black magic to set these properties. Can't recall the details and don't have time at the moment to check it by myself.

q.
We still make this part of the MDG by hand, we take an existing diagram specification and manually adjust it from the values in a live diagram.

Sorry, I can't help further.  We'd also be interested in how to create these directly via the model.

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

JamesM

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: MDG - Disable 'Show Namespace' for all diagrams in MDG
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2022, 06:03:32 pm »
Thanks for all the replies.  Having reviewed them I can see how poorly I authored my initial issue.  Should have stated my problem not what I perceived was the solution.

@Sunshine you hit the nail on the head with NoFullScope=1. I was looking for an option which merely allowed just the name and type of the element to be present on a symbol in a diagram by default.   I'd been totally focused on toggling the value of 'Show Namespace' in diagram properties as this seemed the logical option to disable.  I had not considered that there might have been a completely different option in the list that would achieve the desired outcome.