Author Topic: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?  (Read 13101 times)

Mauricio Moya (Arquesoft)

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 340
  • Karma: +8/-4
  • EA Consulting and development in Spanish
    • View Profile
    • Arquehub Azure Module
Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« on: February 02, 2023, 01:19:42 am »
As PCS has the worker that generates the fresh image files for the diagrams, where are those diagrams stored? is there a folder in the computer having the PCS that has all the files inside? how does it work? I know the images can not be generated by demand because it is just the purpose of the Worker, so where are the images stored?

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13517
  • Karma: +394/-299
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2023, 01:21:03 am »
Diagrams are always rendered on the fly. EA has some cache but the format diagrams stored therein is unknown (even to me).

q.

ea0522

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2023, 01:35:20 am »
Diagrams are not always rendered on the fly.
There is a setting (see "Settings => Options => Cloud") where you can define that EA should always auto create a diagram image.
There even is a button to batch create all images available in the model.
This is necessary when using the WebEA functionality as this application has no ability to render the diagrams itself.

As far as I know, the images are stored in a separate table "t_images" or "t_document". I'm not quite sure which.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12939
  • Karma: +538/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2023, 02:48:23 am »
Diagrams are not always rendered on the fly.
There is a setting (see "Settings => Options => Cloud") where you can define that EA should always auto create a diagram image.
There even is a button to batch create all images available in the model.
This is necessary when using the WebEA functionality as this application has no ability to render the diagrams itself.

As far as I know, the images are stored in a separate table "t_images" or "t_document". I'm not quite sure which.
There is another thread on the forum somewhere that discusses this exact issue, and the location of the diagram images.
It's definitely in the database as ea0522 suggests.

Geert

Mauricio Moya (Arquesoft)

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 340
  • Karma: +8/-4
  • EA Consulting and development in Spanish
    • View Profile
    • Arquehub Azure Module
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2023, 01:15:50 am »
Thanks Geert. I have found the thread. Just for reference:
Table: t_document
Condition: DocName = 'DIAGRAMIMAGEMAP'

Original post: https://sparxsystems.com/forums/smf/index.php/topic,44236.msg260783.html#msg260783

adelgado

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2023, 09:26:14 pm »
Geert, en la tabla t_document en la columna DocName se guardan los nombre de los fragmentos que he creado para generar la documentación y no me aparece el valor 'DIAGRAMIMAGEMA'. 

Necesito acceder a las imágenes de los diagramas, puesto que tengo diferentes carpetas(package) y en cada carpeta muestro una selección de diagramas diferentes.

Ejemplo:

       CARPETA A :  Diagrama de clases

       CARPETA B:   Algunos diagramas de composite
                           Algunos diagramas de sequence

intentaba hacer una sql (por eso quiero saber la tabla que tiene las imagenes)  sobre cada fragmento para juntarlas y tener los diagramas filtrados por package, por tipo, y por tag.
La herramienta tiene esta flexibilidad?
Existe otro camino?


ea0522

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2023, 05:32:55 pm »
Sorry adelgado,
Could you please translate your reply to English?
It looks like your contribution is very interesting to me but my Spanish(?) is not that well.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13517
  • Karma: +394/-299
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2023, 06:10:43 pm »
Google thinks that it means
Quote
Geert, in the t_document table, in the DocName column, the names of the fragments that I have created to generate the documentation are stored and the value 'DIAGRAMIMAGEMA' does not appear.

I need to access the images of the diagrams, since I have different folders(package) and in each folder I show a selection of different diagrams.

Example:

        FOLDER A : Class diagram

        FOLDER B: Some composite diagrams
                            Some sequence diagrams

I was trying to do a sql (that's why I want to know the table that has the images) on each fragment to join them and have the diagrams filtered by package, by type, and by tag.
Does the tool have this flexibility?
Is there another way?

q.

ea0522

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2023, 08:02:30 pm »
Thanks for the translation and sorry I didn't think of Google myself...

The question posed is indeed interesting.
The tool does allow to use the diagram information and have SQL filter on the diagrams you need.
The problem however might be to 'translate' the binary image information into 'readable' png format to display.
The same problem is addressed in another topic:
https://sparxsystems.com/forums/smf/index.php/topic,47924.0.html

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13517
  • Karma: +394/-299
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2023, 08:53:24 pm »
Well, of course. The fomat is a proprietary Sparxian one. No chance unless you get intimate with the coder.

q.

skiwi

  • EA Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 2057
  • Karma: +46/-82
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #10 on: August 17, 2023, 05:58:55 am »
For me the question, which I think has been asked before, is how do you (why can't you) have a link to an image of each diagram (server by WebEA) that can be reused in other documentation, e.g. intranets.
Orthogonality rules
Using EA16.1 (1627) on Windows 11 Enterprise/64 bit. Repositories in SQLServer2019 DB Schema 1558.
WebEA on Pro Cloud Server 4.2.64

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13517
  • Karma: +394/-299
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2023, 06:14:16 am »
I don't get your point.

q.

skiwi

  • EA Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 2057
  • Karma: +46/-82
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #12 on: August 17, 2023, 06:45:15 am »
I'd like to be able to embed an architecture diagram created in EA without copying and pasting it into an intranet page.
E.g. access it as https://easerver/mymagicdiagramGUID.jpg
Orthogonality rules
Using EA16.1 (1627) on Windows 11 Enterprise/64 bit. Repositories in SQLServer2019 DB Schema 1558.
WebEA on Pro Cloud Server 4.2.64

DeBAAT

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #13 on: August 17, 2023, 04:17:27 pm »
For instance for showing it on a Confluence page on my Wiki intranet...

BobM

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a place where I can get the diagram image files?
« Reply #14 on: August 17, 2023, 05:56:28 pm »
https://prolaborate.sparxsystems.com/resources/documentation/enterprise-architect-and-confluence-integration

I fear it is a prolaborate only functionality, but as Prolaborate is a shell this could technically be done via Procloud (the question is how?)