Author Topic: EA16 OpenID authentication: close the browser tab  (Read 4545 times)

Guillaume

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1321
  • Karma: +42/-2
    • View Profile
    • www.umlchannel.com
EA16 OpenID authentication: close the browser tab
« on: February 20, 2023, 10:15:51 pm »
Hello,

EA OpenID authentication requires to click on the Login with OpenID which opens the browser e.g. Edge. Once authenticated, the user has access to the repository.
With EA15, the browser window is automatically closed which is an issue since the user could lose all other tabs e.g. Outlook, etc.
With EA16.1, the browser tab remains opened and visible. The user needs to manually close this tab and/or go back to EA.

Would it be possible to have a behaviour in between i.e. once authenticated, only close the active tab ?

Guillaume

Blog: www.umlchannel.com | Free utilities addin: www.eautils.com


JoNijsen

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: EA16 OpenID authentication: close the browser tab
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2023, 05:07:38 pm »
Or maybe not even show it at all and go straight to EA

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8017
  • Karma: +118/-20
    • View Profile
Re: EA16 OpenID authentication: close the browser tab
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2023, 08:15:55 am »
Would it be possible to have a behaviour in between i.e. once authenticated, only close the active tab ?
My understanding is that there's no available way to do that.

Or maybe not even show it at all and go straight to EA
An OpenID login always occurs in a browser Window, and it's not considered acceptable to use an internal browser window.

ea0522

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: EA16 OpenID authentication: close the browser tab
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2023, 04:36:59 pm »
What I once saw was that there is a checkbox to tick to indicate that the OpenID window might not be shown for the next login.
As for now, we use Windows login so this is not necessary anymore.
I remember once with testing that I was not able to switch to another user because of this checkbox ticked.
The solution then was to disable the hiding by checking the account setting which could be reached via the user button on the right top of the EA window.
The menu item I mean reads "Hide OpenID login window".