Author Topic: How to match the Prolaborate user with the EA user?  (Read 7779 times)

Mauricio Moya (Arquesoft)

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 340
  • Karma: +8/-4
  • EA Consulting and development in Spanish
    • View Profile
    • Arquehub Azure Module
How to match the Prolaborate user with the EA user?
« on: March 02, 2023, 07:12:34 am »
When you use Prolaborate, you have a different set of users configured in it. Also you have a list of users in EA when you have the security enabled.

If you have a user in EA belonging to a EA user group and some of the structure of your Browser in EA is locked with Group Lock to this group (which means only users in this group can edit the package structure), but you create the same user in Prolaborate pretending to be able to edit element tags belonging to the group in EA, it doesn't work because when you setup Prolaborate you define only a user to the Prolaborate connection.

So, is it possible to create Prolaborate users that match the EA users, so they have the same packages restrictions/locks in EA and in Prolaborate?

Guillaume

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1317
  • Karma: +42/-2
    • View Profile
    • www.umlchannel.com
Re: How to match the Prolaborate user with the EA user?
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2023, 06:50:46 pm »
From my understanding, EA and Prolaborate users are completely different, even if you configure let's say the same AD user account on both tools.

When the security is enabled on EA, the resulting locks and permissions from Prolaborate are associated with the EA user you configure on each Prolaborate repository and the EA user account that Prolaborate uses to access the EA DB.
As an example, the approach I took is to create a Prolaborate user in EA with the appropriate access and permissions e.g. to be allow to edit the published models. Then in Prolaborate you define the permissions on each Prolaborate users and groups via the fine tuning available.
Guillaume

Blog: www.umlchannel.com | Free utilities addin: www.eautils.com


Arshad

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 266
  • Karma: +19/-1
    • View Profile
Re: How to match the Prolaborate user with the EA user?
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2023, 03:01:31 am »
Hi Mauricio,

Sorry for the delayed response.

If you have a user in EA belonging to a EA user group and some of the structure of your Browser in EA is locked with Group Lock to this group (which means only users in this group can edit the package structure), but you create the same user in Prolaborate pretending to be able to edit element tags belonging to the group in EA, it doesn't work because when you setup Prolaborate you define only a user to the Prolaborate connection.
 

In this case, what we usually recommend is to create a user group in prolaborate similar to EA, add the users to that group, and activate group-based access under the access permissions. This would permit repository access based on the group similar to the EA Group lock.

Additionally, users will be automatically created and assigned to the appropriate group in EA if prolaborate identity is enabled in open Id and configured in EA.

Configure Prolaborate as OpenID in EA