Author Topic: Can EA and ServiceNow coexist? How?  (Read 3252 times)

EA_enthusiast

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Can EA and ServiceNow coexist? How?
« on: January 09, 2024, 07:01:43 am »
Hello EA experts,

Scenario: When a consultant for a government organization, in which they use ServiceNow, started creating an application inventory and technology inventory and modeling their dependencies, they were told, "We plan to capture this information in ServiceNow". 

I am interested to hear your thoughts about the possibility of having ServiceNow and EA coexist in the same organization.

Thank you!
« Last Edit: January 09, 2024, 11:48:44 am by EA_enthusiast »
Thank you to all the contributors who spread their knowledge and experience!

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12914
  • Karma: +537/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Can EA and ServiceNow coexist? How?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2024, 04:35:11 pm »
There is an integration in Pro Cloud Server or Prolaborate with ServiceNow

Geert

EA_enthusiast

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: Can EA and ServiceNow coexist? How?
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2024, 03:19:34 am »
Thanks a lot Geert for chiming in.

Could you please provide more details such as:

- What are the best practices for using EA and ServiceNow together within an organization? (what should be the function of each system)?
- Are there any use cases where it's particularly beneficial to have both tools coexist?
- What are the parts of the EA repository that are commonly integrated between the two systems?

Any additional insights or recommendations you can share regarding the coexistence and integration of EA and ServiceNow would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Thank you to all the contributors who spread their knowledge and experience!

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12914
  • Karma: +537/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Can EA and ServiceNow coexist? How?
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2024, 04:32:43 pm »
Thanks a lot Geert for chiming in.

Could you please provide more details such as:

I'm afraid I can't. I don't have experience with serviceNow

Geert

EA_enthusiast

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: Can EA and ServiceNow coexist? How?
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2024, 12:23:45 am »
Quote
I'm afraid I can't. I don't have experience with serviceNow
.
Thank you, Geert. I appreciate your response.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2024, 04:05:18 am by EA_enthusiast »
Thank you to all the contributors who spread their knowledge and experience!

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12914
  • Karma: +537/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Can EA and ServiceNow coexist? How?
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2024, 12:52:10 am »
Thank you, Greet. I appreciate your response.
It's Geert, not Greet

Geert

EA_enthusiast

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: Can EA and ServiceNow coexist? How?
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2024, 04:06:05 am »
My apology for the typo, Geert  :)
Thank you to all the contributors who spread their knowledge and experience!

rupertkiwi

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 131
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can EA and ServiceNow coexist? How?
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2024, 03:41:37 pm »
We currently use both EA (for modelling purposes) and ServiceNow (as a CMDB) in our organisation but they are not integrated.

I would like them to be integrated mainly for diagramming purposes, I'm not aware of any ServiceNow module where diagramming can be preformed whereas EA is very good for this purpose.

EA_enthusiast

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: Can EA and ServiceNow coexist? How?
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2024, 11:36:45 am »
Thank you, rupertkiwi.

I came across this in EA documentation: Walkthrough: ServiceNow Integration.

https://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/16.1/the_model_repository/wlkthru4sn.html
Thank you to all the contributors who spread their knowledge and experience!