Author Topic: Setup PCS on a cloud Virtual Machine  (Read 17201 times)

EA_enthusiast

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Setup PCS on a cloud Virtual Machine
« on: February 27, 2024, 10:18:49 am »
Hello EA experts,

I had this question on the PCS section for a few days but I have not got a response, so I am moving it here:

Upon receiving recommendations from Geert, BobM, and Eve, I proceeded to create a virtual machine (VM) on Azure to host the PCS. Here's what I've accomplished thus far:

1- Set up a VM on Azure Cloud (Windows Server 2022 - Size Standard B2ms (2 vcpus, 8 GiB memory))
2- Installed PCS.
3- Installed Xampp (I have not done any configuration for it yet)
4- EA? (Do I need to install EA on the same VM that hosts PCS?)
5- Installed SQL Server Express on the same VM, created a database, tested it with a simple SELECT statement and it's working.
6- I established a connection between the PCS and the SQL Server.

https://ibb.co/WBbdWJb

When I tried to establish Cloud connection from my local EA client to Pro Cloud Server hosted on the VM. In the Server field (shown in the screenshot below), I added the IP address of the VM and typed “Test”. I do not actually have any models yet on PCS because I do not know how to add one there.

https://ibb.co/1dvzPpf

However, I got an error message (shown in the screenshot below):

https://ibb.co/856XZds

My understand that I should then follow the steps (shown in the link below):

https://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/16.1/the_model_repository/settingupdatabasemodelfile.html

The above link lists the steps to Set up a Project on a DBMS Repository:
To set up your project on a DBMS repository, you work through these stages:
1.   Set up your DBMS software and create a database.
2.   Create the required tables in your database, by running a script supplied on the Sparx Systems website.
3.   (For certain DBMS products, and if you are not using the Enterprise Architect Native Connection to access the database) Set up an ODBC driver to enable connection to the repository.
4.   Transfer the project from the source file to the DBMS repository; the source file can be:
     -  a .QEA, .EAP or .FEAP base model, to begin a new project from scratch, or
     -  a previously-developed project file, to move an existing project into the DBMS repository
5.   Connect to your repository; we recommend using the Enterprise Architect Native Connection for this.

My questions are:

1- Where can I find the script (underlined) above?
2- How can I create a model on my local machine and transfer it to PCS?
3- How can I test whether someone from my team (with a standard license) has access to the model and that everything is working?
4- When we test that things are working properly, I need to get a floating license. My understanding is that I should use the second option in the below screenshot. For the server address, should I add the IP of the VM that hosts PCS? The port is 1804 or 1805 based on the protocol used (http or https). The user name and password are the user name and password, I use to log in to Pro Cloud Config?

https://ibb.co/bJJwfd8
 
I would appreciate your help to get the setup complete and the connection established.


« Last Edit: February 27, 2024, 10:21:52 am by EA_enthusiast »
Thank you to all the contributors who spread their knowledge and experience!

BobM

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 129
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Setup PCS on a cloud Virtual Machine
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2024, 08:38:06 pm »


Connection Issue:
If you encounter a timeout while trying to establish a connection to the host, it could be due to either the service not running or your firewall blocking it.

  • Download Repository Script:
  • Transfer qea File to Database:
  • Model Database Setup:
    • Add the model database to your PCS (Personal Cloud Service).
    • Instruct users to connect to the model via cloud service.
  • Floating License Activation:
    • If your floating license server is on the same VM as the PCS you need to connect to the same server
    • Ensure you select the desired license once connected to the floating licence server.
      Note that this process may not always be straightforward, except when dealing with multiple license types in a floating license setup











« Last Edit: February 29, 2024, 08:57:24 pm by BobM »

EA_enthusiast

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: Setup PCS on a cloud Virtual Machine
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2024, 05:27:11 am »
Hello, BobM,

Thank you so much for your response. I will try these steps and report back.
Thank you to all the contributors who spread their knowledge and experience!

EA_enthusiast

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: Setup PCS on a cloud Virtual Machine
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2024, 09:45:45 am »
Hello, BobM,

Thank you again for your help. I finally got a chance to try the steps you shared. I completed the first step successfully but got stuck in the second step. I am unable to establish a connection with the server. I am getting the error message shown in the screenshot below:

https://ibb.co/vDGDRHg

What I did:
- Verified SQL Server Configuration: Confirmed that the SQL Server instance is configured to listen on port 1433 using the SQL Server Configuration Manager.
- Windows Firewall: Ensured that the Windows Firewall on the VM itself is also allowing traffic on port 1433.
- In the SparxSystems PCS Configuration Client > Extended Properties > Admin Whitelist, I added the IPv6 address and IPv4 address

Your help would be highly appreciated.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2024, 09:49:29 am by EA_enthusiast »
Thank you to all the contributors who spread their knowledge and experience!

ea0522

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Setup PCS on a cloud Virtual Machine
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2024, 04:52:44 pm »
Sorry, but it looks like the error you show belongs to step 5.
In step 2, EA is not yet needed, you just create the tables and columns in the database itself. Probably using SQL Manager or something similar to run the script from EA (see the underlined text).

EA_enthusiast

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a lifelong learner
    • View Profile
Re: Setup PCS on a cloud Virtual Machine
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2024, 09:10:32 am »
I have finally managed to establish the connection!! :D Thank you, BoB and ea0522 for your help :D

Now, I'm seeking some guidance on the best practices for collaborating on the model with multiple team members.

Scenario 1: User 1 (DB admin) is configured in the database, and User 1's credentials were used to move data from a file to the DBMS using the "Transfer" function. My question is: When User 2 wants to transfer a model they created, should the DB admin create a second user (User 2) on the database and give them the credentials to move data from File to DBMS using the "Transfer" function?

Scenario 2: When I want to create a model for team collaboration, do I need to create the model locally every time and then transfer it to the DBMS, or is there a method to create the model on the cloud from the beginning?

Scenario 3: When User 2 wants to connect to the cloud and browse the available models there, what information should User 1 provide them? Also, is there a way for User 2 to browse all available models, or do they need to know the name of the model (from User 1) before trying to access it?
Thank you to all the contributors who spread their knowledge and experience!

BobM

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 129
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Setup PCS on a cloud Virtual Machine
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2024, 05:58:25 pm »
Scenario 1:
The DBS user is used by procloud services, the endusers can connect to procloud services using their windows accounts

Scenario 2:
Yes you can create the model on the cloud from the beginning
https://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/16.1/the_model_repository/create_cloud_repository.html
You can fill in the blank database by using the Schema creation scripts for the basic setup
https://sparxsystems.com/resources/repositories/

Scenario 3:
For each model you can add which user can see/edit the model.
An easy way to do this is to add it to an active directory for the model and synchronize it