Author Topic: How to create plain Action in toolbox?  (Read 23609 times)

MichPaule

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
How to create plain Action in toolbox?
« on: March 12, 2024, 08:35:36 pm »
EA 16.1.1628 (64 bit)

I could create all flavors of Actions in my MDG toolbox like
  • UML::OpaqueAction(UML::Action)
  • UML::CallBehaviorAction(UML::Action)
  • UML::ValueSpecificationAction(UML::Action)
but I'm unable to find a way to directly create a "plain" Action (= Action with empty Kind).
When using UML::Action(UML::Action) or UML::Action the Action type selection dialog pops up.
Isn't there a way to bypass this dialog and simply create an Action?
TIA for your help!

Michael

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 13136
  • Karma: +548/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: How to create plain Action in toolbox?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2024, 08:38:33 pm »
I don't think that is possible.

Geert

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8038
  • Karma: +118/-20
    • View Profile
Re: How to create plain Action in toolbox?
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2024, 09:31:37 am »
The problem is that the behavior that you're wanting to avoid is specific to creating that exact metaclass.

Just to support the fact that EA does that, and maybe to suggest what you want isn't actually a good idea... Action is actually an abstract metaclass. The authors of UML do not intend for it to be possible to directly create.

One additional point. You don't need the (UML::Action), that's specifically for creating a stereotype for a profile. You could even create a profiled version of the specialized actions like Profile::Stereotype(UML::CallBehaviorAction).

MichPaule

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to create plain Action in toolbox?
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2024, 06:24:01 pm »
Hello Eve,
thanks a lot for your comment!
Just to support the fact that EA does that, and maybe to suggest what you want isn't actually a good idea... Action is actually an abstract metaclass. The authors of UML do not intend for it to be possible to directly create.
Perhaps I don't get your point but EA does allow creating the plain Action (with empty Kind).
If this Action is supposed to be an abstract metaclass then why should EA allow that?
In my case users tended to use the plain Action in their diagrams.
Now I'll have to convince them not to do this anymore  :-[
One additional point. You don't need the (UML::Action), that's specifically for creating a stereotype for a profile. You could even create a profiled version of the specialized actions like Profile::Stereotype(UML::CallBehaviorAction).
I was following this approach.
Might be that this has been fixed already.
I'll have to check later...

Michael

PDC

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • Systems Engineer
    • View Profile
Re: How to create plain Action in toolbox?
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2024, 08:00:52 pm »
Perhaps I don't get your point but EA does allow creating the plain Action (with empty Kind).

I might be definitely wrong, but I *think* that when you create an 'Atomic' Action from the UML 'Activity' toolbox, this is what the UML spec would refer to as an OpaqueAction.
Willing to be corrected though, always learning!
Phil

MichPaule

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to create plain Action in toolbox?
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2024, 09:51:08 pm »
Perhaps I don't get your point but EA does allow creating the plain Action (with empty Kind).

I might be definitely wrong, but I *think* that when you create an 'Atomic' Action from the UML 'Activity' toolbox, this is what the UML spec would refer to as an OpaqueAction.
Willing to be corrected though, always learning!
In this case why do we have "Opaque" as an option in Action Kind?

PDC

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • Systems Engineer
    • View Profile
Re: How to create plain Action in toolbox?
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2024, 07:37:17 pm »
In this case why do we have "Opaque" as an option in Action Kind?

I wish I knew :)
Phil

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8038
  • Karma: +118/-20
    • View Profile
Re: How to create plain Action in toolbox?
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2024, 08:06:29 am »
In this case why do we have "Opaque" as an option in Action Kind?
OpaqueAction is a metaclass in the UML specification.