Author Topic: Is there a way to use Visual Studio Code to author plugins  (Read 8890 times)

Ribeye

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Is there a way to use Visual Studio Code to author plugins
« on: March 19, 2024, 08:23:03 pm »
Normally I would use Visual Studio IDE to write C# plugins. Works well.

But being behind someone's firewall means I don't have access to Visual Studio IDE. They do have Visual Studio Code.

I see elsewhere https://sparxsystems.com/forums/smf/index.php/topic,46362.msg271355.html#msg271355 it says
"Visual Studio Code does not have a compatible API"

Does anyone have a work around, some way to use Visual Studio Code to write a plugin?

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12995
  • Karma: +544/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Is there a way to use Visual Studio Code to author plugins
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2024, 08:38:39 pm »
There's a difference between writing C# addins, and using the VS plugin for EA.

In your case (writing C# addins) you simply need to be able to generate a COM compatible C# dll.
You don't need an integration with EA.

I haven't tried Visual Studio code myself, so I can't say for sure whether or not this tool can be used for EA add-ins.
My gut says it should be possible.

Geert

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12995
  • Karma: +544/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Is there a way to use Visual Studio Code to author plugins
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2024, 09:08:05 pm »
Here's some more info on how to use Visual Studio Code for .Net Framework

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/47707095/visual-studio-code-for-net-framework

It might be easier to convince the powers that be, that you need Visual Studio.

Geert

Ribeye

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a way to use Visual Studio Code to author plugins
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2024, 11:27:41 pm »
Thanks Geert. "its too hard to use Visual Studio Code" was my conclusion. If you say, it will be so for sure.

Thanks again.