Please note : This help page is not for the latest version of Enterprise Architect. The latest help can be found here.
Set Security Policy
The security policy determines how security mechanisms are applied and interpreted on the system. There are two possible security policies in Enterprise Architect:
- User/Group Locking mode - All elements and diagrams are considered unlocked and anyone can edit any part of the model; however, when you edit a diagram, Package or element, you lock the element or set of elements at either the user level or group level and no other user can edit the object
This mode is good for cooperative work groups where there is a solid understanding of who is working on which part of the model, and locking is used mainly to prevent further changes or to limit who has write access to a part of the model
- Require User Lock to Edit mode - More rigorous: the model is read-only, and everything is locked so that nobody can edit anything unless they explicitly check out the object with a user lock; a single 'check out' function operates on a diagram to check out the diagram and all contained elements in one go.
There are also functions on the context (right-click) menus of Packages, diagrams and elements in the Project Browser to apply a user lock when this mode is in use
You would use this mode when there is a strict requirement to ensure only one person can edit a resource at one time; this is suitable for much larger projects where there might be less communication between users
For element locking, the two policies are modified by the 'Apply Locks to Connectors' menu option. If this option is:
- Selected, security locks on elements are applied to all connectors owned by the locked elements (users other than the locking user cannot edit the connectors)
- Unselected, security locks on elements do not apply to the owned connectors
Configure > Security > Administer > Require User Lock to Edit (select for 'Require User Lock to Edit' mode, deselect for 'User/Group Locking' mode)
- Only the Admin Security Administrator, with Admin permissions, is able to set the security policy applied
- When you add new elements in 'User/Group Locking' mode (elements editable by default), no user lock is created automatically for the newly created element
- When you add new elements in 'Require User Lock to Edit' mode (elements locked by default), a user lock is created on the new element to enable instant editing
- For all connectors other than Aggregations, the connector is owned by the source element in the relationship (as currently applied in Version Control)