Prev Next

Generate Diagrams

When you have created a structured scenario, you can generate any of these diagrams from it:

  • Activity
  • With ActivityParameter
  • With Action
  • With Action Pin
  • Rule Flow
  • State
  • Sequence
  • Robustness

Access

On a diagram or in the Browser window, select an element and:

Ribbon

Design > Element > Editors > Scenarios (existing scenario) : Edit

Design > Element > Editors > Properties Dialog > Scenarios > Scenario Editor

Context Menu

Right-click on element | Properties | Responsibilities > Scenarios (existing scenario) : Edit

(In the 'Element' tab of the Browser window) Right-click on scenario | Show Scenario Editor

Keyboard Shortcuts

Ctrl+4 > Scenarios (tab of the Responsibilities Window)

Shift+Enter > Scenarios ('Properties' dialog)

Shift+Alt+S ('Properties' dialog)

Alt+9 > Scenarios

Other

On diagram, right-click on element > Properties > Special Action > Scenarios > Scenario Editor

Generate the required diagram

Step

Action

See also

1

Create the scenario structure in the Scenarios view.

Scenarios View

2

Click on the Scenario Generation Dialog ('Generate Diagram') icon in the toolbar on the tab.

3

Click on the type of diagram to generate.

Enterprise Architect generates the diagram and notifies you that generation is complete. Click on the OK button and then close the 'Properties' dialog to review the diagram.

If the diagram being generated already exists under the selected element, a prompt displays to overwrite or synchronize with that diagram.

Select the appropriate radio button to:

  • Overwrite the existing diagram (delete the existing diagram and elements, and create a new diagram and elements) or
  • Synchronize the elements in the existing diagram with the scenario steps (however, Sequence and Robustness diagrams cannot be synchronized)

Notes

  • The 'Synchronize elements in existing diagram' option enables the 'Preserve Diagram Layout' checkbox, which you can select to preserve the existing arrangement of elements and connectors on the diagram; any new elements are added to the diagram in the default position, and you manually position them in the diagram as required; if you do not select the checkbox, the diagram is recast in the default layout
    It is recommended that you uncheck the 'Preserve Diagram Layout' checkbox if you are synchronizing elements with scenario steps:
         -  When new steps have been added or existing steps have been deleted or moved within the Use
            Case
         -  For the first time in a Use Case that has been imported from XMI with the 'Strip GUIDs' option
            selected
         -  For the first time in a Use Case that has been copied and pasted in the Browser window, or
         -  For the first time in a Use Case whose containing Package has been copied and pasted in the
            Browser window

Learn more