Prev Next

Lock Packages Under User/Group Locking

If, in User/Group locking mode, you want to lock or unlock the contents of a Package, you can do so in a single operation. You can set the lock on the entire contents (including child Packages), just on the top-level Package content, or just on the elements or diagrams in the Package.

Access

Ribbon

Design > Model > Manage > Lock     (on selected Package)

Context Menu

Browser window | Right-click on Package | Package Control | Lock Package

Keyboard

On selected Package, Ctrl+Shift+L

Lock or Unlock a Package

Step

Action

See also

1

In the 'Lock Type' panel, select the appropriate radio button for the lock to apply:

  • No lock - do not set a lock on this Package; clear any existing lock that you have set, or clear any Full lock that other users have set
  • Full lock - lock this Package so that no-one can edit it without specifically clearing the lock
  • User lock - lock this Package so that only you can make further edits; other users cannot unlock or edit the Package
  • Group lock - lock this Package so that any member of the specified group can edit the object; other users cannot unlock or edit the Package

2

If you have selected the 'Group lock' option, in the 'GroupID' field click on the drop-down arrow and select the group containing users that can edit the object.

The 'GroupID' drop-down list only includes groups that you are a member of.

Additionally, if you are setting the Group Lock on a Root node, you can select the 'Hide for Other Groups' checkbox to hide the Package and its contents from users who are not part of the security group or the 'Administrators' group. This hides the Package from general view in the Browser window, but does not prevent the Package content from being exposed in model searches.

Hide Project Root

3

The 'What to Process' checkboxes default to selected to also lock:

  • Elements and/or diagrams in the Package
  • The contents of child Packages (that is, the whole branch)

If you want to exclude any type of Package content from the change in lock status, deselect each appropriate checkbox.

4

Click on the OK button to apply the lock.

Notes

  • To check whether the project security is in User/Group locking mode, select 'Configure > Security > Administer'; the 'Require User Lock to Edit' option should be deselected
  • You must have 'Lock Elements' permission to lock a Package
  • If the Package is already locked, only the corresponding lock option and the 'No lock' option are highlighted; you have to release the lock in order to set a different type of lock
  • If you select the 'Full Lock, no-one may edit' option, a red exclamation mark displays against the Package in the Browser window
  • If you select the 'User Lock, locking user may still edit' or 'Group lock, locking group may still edit' options, a blue exclamation mark displays against the Package in the Browser window; other users see a red exclamation mark

Learn more