Prev Next

Re-Order Messages

When constructing your Communication diagram, it is frequently necessary to create or delete Message 'groups' and to re-order the sequence of Messages. There are two displays that help you perform these tasks: the Properties window for the Message and the 'Sequence Communications' dialog.

Organize Message Groups

If you have several Messages in the form 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, for example, but want to start a new numbering group on, say, the third Message (that is, 1.1, 1.2, 2.1, 2.2, 2.3), you can change that Message in the series to a Start Group message.

Step

Action

1

Double-click on a Message name.

The Properties window for the Message displays.

2

To make the selected Message the start of a new group, select the 'Start New Group' checkbox.

3

If required, in the Notes window for the Message, type an explanatory note.

You can format the text using the Notes toolbar at the top of the field.

4

Click on the Save icon to save changes.

Sequence Messages

In larger and more complex diagrams, you might have to use deeper levels of Messages in a group; for example, 1, 1.2, 1.2.1, 1.2.1.1. You might also have to change the sequence of Messages, making Message 1.3, for example, into Message 1.1.

Step

Action

1

Select the 'Sequence Communication Messages' option after you:

  • Select the 'Layout > Diagram > Options' ribbon option, or
  • Right-click on the diagram background, or
  • Right-click on a Message

The 'Communication Messages' dialog displays.

2

Click on the Message to adjust and, at the bottom of the dialog, click on the:

  • Move Up or Move Down (Hand) buttons to move the Message up or down the sequence (for example, Message 1.2 to Message 1.1 or 1.3)
  • Move Left or Move Right (Hand) buttons to move the Message up or down a level (for example, Message 1.2.1 to Message 1.2 or Message 1.2.1.1)

3

Repeat step 2 until the Message sequence and levels match your requirements.

You might have to adjust other Message numbers (in group, sequence or level) to accommodate the changes you have made.

4

Click on the OK button to save changes.

Learn more