Prev Next

Manage Group Configuration

In order for users to 'check-out' a floating license they must be a member of a Floating License Server Group. The definition of a Group controls which Product Licenses members of the group can 'check-out' and the period of time that the group is valid.

To view the Manage Group Configuration screen click the Manage Group Configuration button in the main toolbar.

The default Group configuration includes the definition of a number of Groups:

The first group shown in the example above is 'admin', each Floating License Server installation will require at least one administration group, for the purpose of allowing connections from the Floating License Server Configuration Client, admin groups cannot be assigned Products and so therefore can not be used by Enterprise Architect to obtain a license. 

The remaining groups are example of normal (non admin) groups that can be used by Enterprise Architect to obtain a license. 'Joe Average' is an example of an expired group that can no longer be used to obtain a license, any attempt to use this will result in a error message indicating the specified group is not longer valid.

Note: Manage Group Configuration was introduced in PCS version 4.2, the Floating License Server Configuration Client in combination with the  Pro Cloud Server can now manage the configuration of Floating License Server Groups, prior to this the Group file (ssflsgroups.config) needed to manually edited using a text editor.

Item

Description

List of Groups

Displays a list of defined Groups in the current Floating License Server.

Note: Double clicking a row in this control will display the Group Details screen in 'Edit' mode.

Add

Selecting this button will display the Group Details screen in Add mode, and will allow the creation of a new Group for the current Floating License Server.

Edit

Selecting this button will display the Group Details screen in 'Edit' mode and load the details of the selected Group. 

Note: This button is only enabled when an existing Group is selected in the List of Groups.

Delete

Selecting this button will delete the entire definition of the currently selected Group from the current Floating License Server. 

Note: This button is only enabled when an existing Group is selected in the List of Groups.

Learn More