Prev Next

Set User and Model Default Diagrams

As you develop your model, you might create a central diagram that represents the current area of work or the direction of development, with hyperlinks to other diagrams and resources, thus creating a Home Page for your model. You could set this diagram to open automatically when you access the model at the start of a work session. You have two options for configuring such a diagram:

  • As your user default, so that the diagram opens when you (or, if appropriate, members of your log-in group) access the model but not when any other user opens the model
  • As your model default, so that the diagram opens when any user opens the model

You can have separate diagrams defined as a user default and as a model default, in which case the user default diagram takes precedence and is the diagram that opens automatically. However, both diagrams are overridden by any project shortcut that defines displays to present on opening the model.

The options to set default diagrams are available in the Corporate, Unified and Ultimate Editions of Enterprise Architect; User Security must be enabled and you must have 'Manage Project Settings' permission to set a diagram as a user or model default.

Set User Default Diagram

Make the current diagram the default diagram displayed when you re-open this model.

  • Start > Desktop > Workspaces (drop-down arrow) > My Places > Manage > Set Current as Default (if the required diagram is open and active)
  • Start > Desktop > Workspaces (drop-down arrow) > My Places > Manage > Choose Default (to browse for the required diagram)

Once you select this diagram, it will display automatically when you open the model.

Set Model Default Diagram

Make the current diagram the default diagram displayed when any user re-opens this model.

  • Start > Desktop > Workspaces (drop-down arrow) > Model Places > Manage > Set Current as Default (if the required diagram is open and active)
  • Start > Desktop > Workspaces (drop-down arrow) > Model Places > Manage > Choose Default (to browse for the required diagram)

Once you select this diagram, it will display automatically when any user opens the model.

Managing Default Diagrams

If you have closed a default diagram and want to return to it, use one of these options:

  • Start > Desktop > Workspaces (drop-down arrow) > My Places > Open My Diagram
  • Start > Desktop > Workspaces (drop-down arrow) > Model Places > Open Model Diagram
  • In the Diagram Status Bar, click on the drop-down arrow on the right and select the 'User Default Diagram' or 'Model Default Diagram' option as appropriate, or

If you want to change either the user default diagram or the model default diagram, use the 'Set' options as described previously, and select a different diagram.

If you want to clear a default diagram, so that you no longer have a default, select one or both of these options:

  • Start > Desktop > Workspaces (drop-down arrow) > My Places > Manage > Clear
  • Start > Desktop > Workspaces (drop-down arrow) > Model Places > Manage > Clear