Prev Next

Security Panel

When Security is enabled on a project, users are required to provide a User ID and password to login to that project. Project Security helps teams to collaborate by allowing individuals or groups to intentionally signal that they are working on specific parts of the model.

Available Facilities

The 'Security' panel collects together a set of facilities for managing security in the model, such as enabling Project Security, specifying which security mode to use, defining the lists of authorized users and user groups, and assigning permissions to users and groups to grant access to various aspects of Enterprise Architect's functionality.

Facility

Description

See also

Administer

Click on the drop-down arrow to display a selection of commands for configuring security in the model.

  • Manage My Locks - display a dialog that lists all locks applied by the current user; locks can be reviewed and also released using this dialog
  • Apply Locks to Connectors - all locks on source elements are extended to the connectors owned by those elements, so that those connectors cannot be deleted and their properties cannot be edited; new connectors cannot be created on those elements
  • Require User Lock to Edit - enable pessimistic locking on the current project; in this mode, users must apply a personal lock to model elements and diagrams before any modifications can be made
  • Group Workflow - set up the workflow from one status to another, for each security group
  • Login as Another User - log in to the Enterprise Architect project as another user
  • Change Password - display the 'Change Password' dialog for your own, currently logged in, user ID
  • Set Avatar - assign an avatar image (in an Image Asset Artifact) to your user ID
  • Enable Security - toggle (either enable or disable) the state of Project Security for the current project; you are prompted to supply an Authorization Key before the security state is changed
  • Show User Avatars - display (or, if unselected, hide) all user avatars in Chat and Discussion entries, in your work sessions
Manage Your Own Locks Change Password Set Security Policy Set User Avatar Default Kanban Diagrams Security Group Workflow User Security

Users

This command displays the 'Security Users' dialog, where new users can be defined and permissions can be granted to those users. Users can be added to existing User Groups. The dialog also provides for import of user definitions from Windows Active Directory lists.

Maintain Users

Groups

This command displays the 'Security Groups' dialog, where new User Groups can be created and users can be added to those groups. Permissions can be granted to User Groups using this dialog.

Maintain Groups

Locks

This command displays the 'Manage Locks' dialog. The dialog shows a list of all elements and diagrams within the model that have active locks. You can also filter to show only items with User Locks or Group Locks. The list of items can be sorted by lock type, item name, locking user, locking group, or the time of lock application. The dialog can be used to select some or all of the locked items, and then to unlock the selected items.

Manage Your Own Locks

Learn more