Please note : This help page is not for the latest version of Enterprise Architect. The latest help can be found here.

Prev Next

EAP Replication

Replication is supported for .eap files and .eapx files. These files are based on the Microsoft Jet database formatting (MS Access), and support the Jet replication.

Note: with decreased support for Jet/DAO, especially in 64 bit applications, replication using Enterprise Architect's new SQLite file-based repository format (.qea file ) is the preferred option.

Access

Ribbon

Settings > Model > Transfer >  Replication

Guide

The process to set up replication is basically the same as for .eap files, as for .qea files. To use replication:

Facility

Detail

See also

Create a Master

Convert the base project into a design master.

Design Masters - EAP

Create Replicas

Create replicas from the design master. These replicas can then be posted off-site and worked on it as required.

Create Replicas - EAP

Synchronize

When a work-cycle is complete, the replica repositories can be returned for synchronization with the master repository.

When synchronizing, all changes in the master and the replica are propagated in both directions, ensuring they both finally contain the same information.

Synchronize Replicas - EAP

Enterprise Architect Merge Rules

Enterprise Architect follows these rules in merging:

  • Additions are cumulative; that is, two replicas each creating three new Classes result in six new Classes after merging
  • Deletions prevail over modifications; if one replica changes a Class name and other deletes the Class, merging replicas results in both files losing the Class

Conflicting modifications appear in the 'Resolve Replication Conflicts' dialog.

Resolve Conflicts

Upgrades and Replicas

When you upgrade your version of Enterprise Architect, you must not open a replica until you have opened the design master and then synchronized the replicas with the master; you cannot directly upgrade a replica.

Upgrade Replicas

Avoid Change Collisions

If two or more people make changes to the same element, Enterprise Architect arbitrarily overwrites one person's change with the other's; to avoid this, different users should work on different Packages.

However, since Enterprise Architect does not enforce this rule, it is possible for users' work to conflict; to minimize difficulties, please note these guidelines:

  • If users are likely to have worked in the same area of the model, they should both witness the synchronization and confirm that they are happy with the net result
  • If small pieces of information have been lost, they should be typed into one of the merged models after synchronization
  • If a large piece of information has been lost (for example, an overwritten large Class note) use the 'Resolve Replication Conflicts' dialog
Resolve Conflicts

Disable or Remove Replication Features

If you have converted a project to a design master but now want to disable the replication features, you can remove Replication; ensure that you back up all your files first.

Remove Replication