Prev Next

QEA Replication

When using replication on the 64 bit version of  Enterprise Architect it is necessary to use the SQLlite repository type. This includes the .qea and .qeax file types.

Access

Ribbon

Settings > Model > Transfer >  Replication > QEA Replication

Guide

The following covers the key steps in the process of setting up and using replication for .qea files.

Facility

Detail

See also

Create a Master

Convert a base repository into a replication master repository.

Design Masters - QEA

Create Replicas

Create replicas from the master repository. These replicas can then be posted off-site and worked on it as required.

Create Replicas - QEA

Synchronize

When a work-cycle is complete, the replica repositories can be returned for synchronization with the master repository.

When synchronizing, all changes in the master and the replica are propagated in both directions, ensuring they both finally contain the same information.

Synchronize Replicas - QEA

QEA Merge Rules

Enterprise Architect follows these rules in merging:

  • Additions are cumulative; that is, two replicas each creating three new Classes result in six new Classes after merging
  • Deletions prevail over modifications; if one replica changes a Class name and other deletes the Class, merging replicas results in both files losing the Class

Conflicting modifications appear in the 'Resolve Replication Conflicts' dialog.

Resolve Conflicts

Avoid Change Collisions

If two or more people make changes to the same element, Enterprise Architect arbitrarily overwrites one person's change with the other's; to avoid this, different users should work on different Packages.

However, since Enterprise Architect does not enforce this rule, it is possible for users' work to conflict; to minimize difficulties, please note these guidelines:

  • If users are likely to have worked in the same area of the model, they should both witness the synchronization and confirm that they are happy with the net result
  • If small pieces of information have been lost, they should be typed into one of the merged models after synchronization
  • If a large piece of information has been lost (for example, an overwritten large Class note) use the 'Resolve Replication Conflicts' dialog
Resolve Conflicts

Disable or Remove Replication Features

If you have converted a project to a design master but now want to disable the replication features, you can remove Replication; ensure that you back up all your files first.

Remove Replication