Author Topic: Command, Rationale and Note Elements  (Read 2555 times)

Polymorph

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Command, Rationale and Note Elements
« on: February 23, 2016, 01:00:41 am »
Is there any way to get notes, commands, rationales (etc) to display in the project browser or do you have to rely on creating a search to find them?

Background:
Often the same rationale is applicable to multiple model elements. Having a way to find them easily and drop them onto multiple diagrams makes their re-use easier...

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9836
  • Karma: +190/-155
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Command, Rationale and Note Elements
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2016, 03:40:08 am »
You will need a search to find them. The browser hides a couple of element (for what reason ever).

q.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2016, 10:06:19 pm by qwerty »

Helmut Ortmann

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 928
  • Karma: +39/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Command, Rationale and Note Elements
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2016, 04:44:19 pm »
Hi,

in my experience a lot of notes are better written inside the note of an element, diagram or package. You can easily visualize this note by:
  • Create a note
  • Draw a note link from note to element, package
  • Right click on Note Link, Link this Note to an element feature
  • Select feature note
  • Now it shows the note of the feature you have chosen, just try to change the note or the note feature to test

The advantage is: The text is inside the element and always moves with. You decide if you want to display or not.

Beside:
  • You may to this also with other features like Attributes,..
  • It also works for diagram notes, a little difference


Powerful and easy.

If you use my free hoTools (community, LineStyle) it's only a click away.


Helmut
Coaching, Training, Workshop (Addins: hoTools, Search&Replace, LineStyle)

Polymorph

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Command, Rationale and Note Elements
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2016, 10:20:41 pm »
Quote
notes are better written inside the note of an element

Good point, but in this case this doesn't work because I want to link a single note/rationale element to multiple elements.

I can't understand why EA has chosen to  bury the notes deep inside the model, whereas the "issues" element is a true model element that can be located in the browser.

Although I'm not holding my breath, I've raised a new feature request:

http://sparxsystems.com/forums/smf/index.php/topic,30360.0.html
« Last Edit: February 24, 2016, 10:29:33 pm by Polymorph »

Helmut Ortmann

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 928
  • Karma: +39/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Command, Rationale and Note Elements
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2016, 05:30:37 pm »
Hi,

sometimes I use artifacts, documents, files or so to describe something reusable. You may also make your own meta type by profile or MDG with a pretty nice icon to visualize it.

If you use for example standardized keywords  you can make powerful searches to find particular elements. I use this for example to reference other documents outside and to easily find them. Tagged values would also do.

Helmut
Coaching, Training, Workshop (Addins: hoTools, Search&Replace, LineStyle)