Author Topic: Out of memory when starting  (Read 2168 times)

Francois

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Out of memory when starting
« on: December 12, 2017, 08:58:52 pm »
I have EA version 12.0.1215.11, running on Windows10 in a VirtualBox VM on top of Ubuntu 14.04.
It was running fine.
However, I now get an "Out of Memory" message  upon start.

Changing memory allocation of the VM (from 2GB to 8G out of 16 physical) was ineffective.
The video memory is configured at its maximum (128MB).

Any hint would be appreciated! :-)
Thanks.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9836
  • Karma: +190/-155
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory when starting
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2017, 09:38:53 pm »
Who issues that message?

q.

Francois

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory when starting
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2017, 10:48:11 pm »
EA itself.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9836
  • Karma: +190/-155
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory when starting
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2017, 02:51:31 am »
I seem to remember that EA comes up with such a message if the database is corrupt.

q.

Francois

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory when starting
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2017, 03:02:51 am »
Ok, thanks.
May be my VM did shutdown in a nasty way.

Simon M

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6497
  • Karma: +57/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory when starting
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2017, 08:49:51 am »
There's a known issue that some installs of Windows 10 can give this issue.

If I remember correctly, we never managed to reproduce it or find the cause. The good news is that we did manage to isolate and correct the problem with the help of a customer who was experiencing the issue.

The fix is planned for inclusion in a 1352 patch release.
Simon

support@sparxsystems.com

Graham_Moir

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 708
  • Karma: +6/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory when starting
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2017, 09:31:38 pm »
The fix is planned for inclusion in a 1352 patch release.

Does that imply that release 14, expected before 2017 year-end, has been delayed?  I for one wasn't expecting any more 13.xx releases given the imminent availability of 14.

« Last Edit: December 19, 2017, 08:33:44 pm by Graham_Moir »

Takeshi K

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 334
  • Karma: +5/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory when starting
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2017, 11:37:12 am »
Hello Graham,

Just for your information, current schedule of version 14 is mentioned in the latest Webinar, 1Q 2018.

See Question 'When will version 14 be released?' in the following page:
http://www.sparxsystems.com/resources/webinar/release/ea140/model-patterns/index.html
--
t-kouno

Graham_Moir

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 708
  • Karma: +6/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Out of memory when starting
« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2017, 08:33:27 pm »
Hello Graham,

Just for your information, current schedule of version 14 is mentioned in the latest Webinar, 1Q 2018.

See Question 'When will version 14 be released?' in the following page:
http://www.sparxsystems.com/resources/webinar/release/ea140/model-patterns/index.html

Ah, thank you.  That info has changed then since the webinars started.