Author Topic: How to set-up mutiple EA repositories in one Pro Cloud Server  (Read 6846 times)

Sjaak62

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
How to set-up mutiple EA repositories in one Pro Cloud Server
« on: December 13, 2023, 09:28:28 pm »
I've been looking around, but cannot find how to create multiple EA repositories in one Pro Cloud Server. We're using the Pro Cloud Server to access it using the Sparx EA client, and want to have a separate repository for each functional team. Anyone who can give me a pointer to an instruction to accomplish this?

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12996
  • Karma: +544/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: How to set-up mutiple EA repositories in one Pro Cloud Server
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2023, 09:47:11 pm »
I'm not sure where you are stuck. It's a matter of setting up a repository, and then linking it in the PCS manager just like you did with the first repo.

Geert

BobM

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 129
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile

Sjaak62

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to set-up mutiple EA repositories in one Pro Cloud Server
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2023, 11:47:01 pm »
Hi Geert and Bob,
I'm actually stuck at that I have one SQL Server based repository available using the PCS, and I want to add a second SQL Server based repository to the PCS. Is that just as simple as creating and initializing an additional repo database ( https://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/16.1/the_model_repository/settingupdatabasemodelfile.html ), and link the repository (step 5) as described inhttps://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/16.1/the_model_repository/sscs_setup_overview.html

Reason why I cannot test this myself is that our private hosting provider does this setup for us, and I have to specify to them how to setup an additional repository.

Very much appreciated if one of you can positively confirm this.

Kind regards, Sjaak

BobM

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 129
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to set-up mutiple EA repositories in one Pro Cloud Server
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2023, 01:56:42 am »
Hello sjaak,

Yes, it is that simple:
https://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/16.1/the_model_repository/upsizingtosqlserver.html

In the cloud server client they have to add a new database

https://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/16.1/the_model_repository/cloud_server_client.html
https://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/16.1/the_model_repository/cloud_server_client_add_sqlsvr.html

Forward the model name you want them to use

In Sparx client self you add use cloud connection with the same URL, port, but select the respective model name for the repository each team has to use

If you want to use RAS they need to enable procloud features (its not just WebEA)
If you want to access the models via WebEA as well you still need to add the model in the WebEA config as well

Sjaak62

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to set-up mutiple EA repositories in one Pro Cloud Server
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2023, 05:27:38 pm »
Hi Bob, thank you very much, this really helps me to move this forward.
Kind regards, Sjaak