Author Topic: Include or extend?  (Read 6945 times)

Bill Egge

• EA User
    • View Profile
Include or extend?
« on: April 15, 2005, 12:27:01 pm »
I am new with UML and having a little difficulty determining between including and extending a use case.

Take these 3 cases.

1.  A use case named "Manage Employee", then 2 other use cases named "Create Employee", and "Update Employee"

Do Update and Create Extend  Manage Employee, or are they included in Manage Employee?

2.  I created a report builder.  I have discovered I need to add some debugging features to it.  So, I create a use case named "Debug" and then 2 other use cases named "View XML", and "View script field results".

Do these extend or are they included?

3.  Suppose I have a use case for reading a book named "Read Book", and then 1 use cases named "Turn Page".  Is this use case included in read book?

My guess is that the difference between extend and include are the fact that the "main" use case can or cannot functionally exist without the other use case.  If it cannot, then the other use cases are included, else the other extend.

Is that right?

Bruno.Cossi

• EA User
    • View Profile
Re: Include or extend?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2005, 12:38:10 pm »
Hi Bill,

to start with, you should re-think what do you consider a Use Case.
For example, Turn Page does not sound like a Use Case to me. Use Case by definition represents an interaction between the actor (Reader?) and the system, and provides something of value to the actor. Would someone say "I want to be able to turn a page"? Likely not, they would say "I want to be able to read a book". Read Book would be a Use Case, but Turn Page would not, Turn Page is merely one step in the scenario that describes the details of Read Book.