Author Topic: UML didn't trigger my brain  (Read 4548 times)

nf

• EA Novice
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
UML didn't trigger my brain
« on: October 16, 2005, 08:37:54 pm »
I've been reading UML diagrams since 1999. I can read all diagrams, I do understand what they say, I know what tay are for, and I actually did some work with UML... But I don't feel able to manage a project having UML as a main tool. I am a strong programmer, a fast
database designer and I managed large scale projects, all the way until deploy, were what I did was just some Use Case and a poor state diagram. My main difficulty is to understand when to build a UML diagram whit the information you get. Theatrically I can picture the UML but when I draw the diagrams they seam poor. I'm starting a new Project that one of requirements is to document all the project with UML, I'am afraid I'm not up to it. The question is "Who do you actually learn to use UML?"

thomaskilian

Re: UML didn't trigger my brain
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2005, 12:53:51 am »
Just a bit like my current thread. I'm currently able to model in my backroom. That is:
  • I take requirements (right with UML bacause that's no wizzardry).
  • Also - in the meantime - I'm able to model Use Cases on the fly by interviewing stakeholders. It took a while and a lot of praxis to do that.
  • But for Domain Modelling I need the privacy of my backroom.
I'll definitely need some more projects and probably one or two years to also do that on the fly. I'm currently trying to include all techniques in a single project at home by organizing my music collection in a database. I will try to do everything from Use Cases to Deployment by myself. Taking lectures would be nice, but I won't get payed for that.

nf

• EA Novice
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2005, 02:07:07 am »
Just a bit like my current thread.

That was my first read in this forum! Nice, but the main thread was
turned.